Ghost Quarter vs Spellskite

Asked by Ryotenchi 2 years ago

Can my opponent redirect Ghost Quarter's ability to Spellskite?

My thought was it had to be a legal target, but it is an ability and card rules win.. so Spellskite stops me from Strip Mineing my opponent with Leonin Arbiter in play.. and my opponent took a 1 mana hand.. (Razorverge Thicket) :(

ChiefBell says... Accepted answer #1

This is from gatherer:

"You can activate Spellskite's ability even if Spellskite wouldn't be a legal target for the spell or ability. However, the target of that spell or ability will remain unchanged."

"The target of the spell or ability won't change unless Spellskite fulfills all the targeting criteria, even if multiple instances of the word "target" are used. For example, you can't change both targets of Arc Trail to Spellskite."

So in short - yes he can activate the ability but it doesn't fulfil all the targeting criteria (it is not a land) and therefore it will have no effect.

April 25, 2015 8:37 a.m.

Ryotenchi says... #2

Thanx ChiefBell, The Judge said it fizzled my Ghost Quarter.. but the judge isnt any more knowledgeable than me.. so.. If yeh could just fizzle everything with it like that, Id assume that means counter spells too..

Which make Skite broken.. o.o and Id have to mass buy right now..

I would have gone undefeated if not for that.. was the abzan player, took a 1 mana hand (Razorverge Thicket). Couldnt get his black and we went 5 turns each before I finally had to path something, then we hit time and tied.. so. :/

April 25, 2015 2:15 p.m.

ChiefBell says... #3

The judge was wrong. Tell him to check the gatherer text as a primary port of call! If in doubt - check!

April 25, 2015 7:21 p.m.

Ryotenchi says... #4

ChiefBell, wish I had a phone I could look that shiz up on..

As far as the judges here... o.o THEY DONT KNOW SQUAT... but hes was the judge and Im playing.. so I just went with his call. They have to pass some sort of test dont they?

April 25, 2015 8:19 p.m.

jenova_death says... #5

Spellskite works like this. Spellskite only works if it is a legal target. This means, it can't be targeted by Ghost Quarter cause it targets a land. Spellskite is a creature.I feel like this card deserves it's bottom text to be replaced with "#broken" :/

November 15, 2015 midnight

This discussion has been closed