Fight Errata

Asked by InDirectX 5 years ago

Two questions. These all relate to the fight ability, as shown in Prey Upon .

First, if I cast Berserk onto my creature, and then Prey Upon , would the fight count as an attack? The magic rules I found on them were unclear.

Second, if it does count as an attack, would Fangren Firstborn make every other creature that fights that turn stronger?

erabel says... Accepted answer #1

"Attack" in Magic specifically refers to being declared as an attacker during the Declare Attackers step during Combat. Fight, as a keyword, does not trigger any abilities that trigger off of attacking.

So, Berserk would not destroy a creature that Preyed Upon another (unless it also attacks), and Fangren Firstborn would not grow your fighters.

May 30, 2014 3:34 p.m.

InDirectX says... #2

Further question: So block doesn't apply, meaning Skarrgan Pit-Skulk wouldn't be especially good at fighting?

May 30, 2014 3:36 p.m.

InDirectX says... #3

Nevermind. you just answered that question.

May 30, 2014 3:38 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

As erabel said, fight has nothing to do with combat. Combat-specific abilities have no impact on fight mechanics. Abilities concerned with attacking or blocking are irrelevant here.

May 30, 2014 3:39 p.m.

InDirectX says... #5

THE EPOCHALYPTIK HAS ANSWERED! ALL HAIL EPOCHALYPTIK

May 30, 2014 3:40 p.m.

This discussion has been closed