Does this Tremble and Evolving Wilds interaction work?

Asked by hafnera 1 year ago

Can I Tremble , sacrificing an Evolving Wilds , then in response use the sacrifice effects on Evolving Wilds to grab a land, effectively just making my opponent sacrifice a land?

What about Crack the Earth and Raze .

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #1

You can cast Tremble and in response sacrifice Evolving Wilds to grab a land. When Tremble resolves you can then sacrifice whatever land you grabbed, but will still need to sacrifice a land. The same is true for Crack the Earth. Raze is slightly different, you need to sacrifice the land as you cast Raze, so you could sacrifice Evolving Wilds to that rather than search, or just sacrifice another land.

March 8, 2018 9:18 p.m.

Boza says... #3

No. The ability of Evolving Wilds has the cost of ", Sacrifice EW". If you do not pay the cost for that activated ability, you do not get use the ability. Simply sacrificing the land will not give you that effect.

Edit: YOu can get the desired effect with Boom. You can target an Evolving Wilds you control and a land you don't and sacrifice EW to its own ability before Boom resolves. That way, only an opponents land will destroyed.

March 9, 2018 5:37 a.m. Edited.

Please login to comment