Does Progenitor Mimic have to be a creature to make token copies?

Asked by chrizzilla 6 years ago

Here's the situation:

I Use Hydroform to make a land of mine (say a Maze's End ) a 3/3 creature for the turn, then cast a Progenitor Mimic .

I am confused as to what happens in this situation. Does Progenitor Mimic continue to be a Maze's End that is also a 3/3 creature indefinetly, or does it lose being a creature?

Furthermore, if it does become a noncreature land, does its upkeep triggered ability trigger since it says "At the beginning of your upkeep, if this CREATURE isn't a token, put a token onto the battlefield that's a copy of this CREATURE."???

Devonin says... #1

Because Maze's End is currently a creature, it is a valid target for Progenitor Mimic. However, the Mimic is a copy effect, which will only pick up the text actually printed on the card.

So the Mimic will enter as a standard Maze's End, not a creature.

As to what happens when its token creation effect tries to fire off, and it is no longer a creature, I'm going to summon epochalyptik to confirm, but I want to say that because the upkeep trigger checks if the creature is not a token, and gets back that it is not even a creature, that nothing will happen. It's either that, or you keep getting non-creature tokens with Maze's End's rules text on it.

July 2, 2013 9:22 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2

Progenitor Mimic 's ability checks whether or not the source permanent is a token, not whether it is a creature. "This creature" is effectively the same as "this permanent," it's just that the permanent in question is expected to be a creature. Even if Progenitor Mimic is no longer a creature, its ability still only checks for token status.

Whenever a copy effect produces a copy, token or nontoken, of a permanent, the copy only inherits the base qualities of that permanent plus any qualities conferred by copy effects. In this case, Progenitor Mimic will be a noncreature Maze's End . Its triggered ability will produce token copies of Maze's End .

201.5. If an ability of an object uses a phrase such as this [something] to identify an object, where [something] is a characteristic, it is referring to that particular object, even if it isnt the appropriate characteristic at the time.

July 2, 2013 9:35 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

Also, the summon thing doesn't work unless you actually tag me in the post. For example: Devonin.

July 2, 2013 9:35 p.m.

harrydemon117 says... #4

So in essence, one can "animate" a Mutavault , cast Progenitor Mimic , and then spawn a "token" Mutavault each turn?

Seems like there's some crazy shenanigans that can be exlploited in standard somehow...

July 3, 2013 9:37 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #5

I don't think you can really "exploit" this when the key card is 4GU.

You'd have better luck with it in a casual environment.

July 3, 2013 5:20 p.m.

Schuesseled says... #6

If there was a way of turning say, Sphere of Safety into a creature, you could make a very hard to beat pillowfort.

July 3, 2013 8:10 p.m.

This discussion has been closed