Auto-suggestions on decks are now available

Does Myr Turbine trigger Vanquisher's Banner cast creature spell?

Asked by cave 1 year ago

Vanquisher's Banner has creature type "Myr" choosen.

Myr Turbine has "Search your library for a Myr card and put that card onto the battlefield". Is this "cast a creature spell"?

When Myr Turbine brings this Myr Creature Card (for example: Alpha Myr ) onto battlefield, does this trigger the "Whenever you cast a creature spell of the chosen type" from Vanquisher's Banner and let me draw a card?

Same Question also for the other activated ability from Myr Turbine : "Put a 1/1 colorless Myr artifact creature token onto the battlefield."

Kjartan says... #1

Putting things onto the battlefield isn't casting them.

A card being put onto the battlefield, by an ability such as this, hasn't been cast. It is at no point considered a spell, and can't be countered or otherwise interacted with before the ability that places it on the battlefield has finished resolving.

July 17, 2018 8:23 a.m.

Kogarashi says... Accepted answer #2

Older cards that read "play" may have been changed to "cast," but "put it onto the battlefield" does not mean you're casting it. When in doubt, you can check the Gatherer for the Oracle text of a given card such as Myr Turbine to see if it says "cast" or not. In this case, Myr Turbine does not say you cast the card you searched for, so it would not trigger Vanquisher's Banner. Neither would creating a token creature, as token creatures are never cast.

July 18, 2018 8:56 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... #3

If your question has been answered please select an answer to remove this from the queue. If you need further clarification please ask for it so we can help you understand further.

July 19, 2018 7:18 a.m.

Please login to comment