Do I keep control of all creatures?

Asked by Dreykon 7 months ago

I cast Insurrection on my main phase, it resolve. I attack damage is dealt. 2nd Main I cast Teferi's Protection . Do I keep control of all my opponents creatures after my next upkeep?

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #1

The "until end of turn" clause is a continuous effect, and continuous effect affecting phased out permanents can end and will no longer effect them when they phase back in.

702.25e Continuous effects that affect a phased-out permanent may expire while that permanent is phased out. If so, they will no longer affect that permanent once it’s phased in. In particular, effects with “for as long as” durations that track that permanent (see rule 611.2b) end when that permanent phases out because they can no longer see it.

August 10, 2018 10:40 a.m.

Dreykon says... #2

Thank you Gidgetimer. Follow up if you can help with this one too. Same scenario but part of the creatures their is an opponents commander. Can he or she chose to send the commander to their command zone do to phasing? I don't think Phasing causes permanents to change zones but I may be wrong.

August 10, 2018 12:02 p.m.

cdkime says... #3

Phasing does not cause an opposing creature to change zones--as such, your opponent does not have the option of returning the commander to the command zone.

702.25d: The phasing event doesn’t actually cause a permanent to change zones or control, even though it’s treated as though it’s not on the battlefield and not under its controller’s control while it’s phased out. Zone-change triggers don’t trigger when a permanent phases in or out. Tokens continue to exist on the battlefield while phased out. Counters remain on a permanent while it’s phased out. Effects that check a phased-in permanent’s history won’t treat the phasing event as having caused the permanent to leave or enter the battlefield or its controller’s control.

August 10, 2018 12:11 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... #4

I may have worded my response ambiguously now that I reread it. To be clear, the control change is the continuous effect and the "until end of turn" means it will end before they phase back in and they will no longer be under your control.

August 10, 2018 12:21 p.m.

Dreykon says... #5

Thank you both.

August 10, 2018 2:04 p.m.

Please login to comment