Creating vs Putting Into Play

Asked by DarkMagician 11 months ago

Was wondering, does creating a token trigger etb abilities? For example, will Ghave, Guru of Spores first ability trigger Cathars' Crusade?

GearNoir says... Accepted answer #1

Yes, creating a token or putting one into play because of an ability will still trigger Cathars' Crusade's ability. Even though the creature is not cast, it still enters the battlefield.

January 8, 2017 1:25 p.m.

DarkMagician says... #2

Thought as much, just wanted to make sure.

January 8, 2017 2:05 p.m.

Note that to "Create" a token is just the new wording Wizards is using to replace "Put on to the battlefield." They mean the same thing.

January 8, 2017 3:22 p.m.

This discussion has been closed