DarkMagician Deckspert

Started playing casually (and by that I mean with friends who supplemented their limited knowledge of how to play with made up rules) in 2001. Nowadays I play mostly casual (with the real rules) but occasionally do Modern tournaments.

I don't play decks, I play graveyards. Reanimate, Animate Dead, Eternal Witness and Snapcaster Mage type cards make me uber happy. Why cast a card once when you can cast it 10, 15, 20 or even 25 times? (Yes I have cast a single card 25 times in one game solely because a friend said I couldn't, I Pondered very deeply in that game). <<

Epochalyptik says... #1

There's a process for posting in the Q&A that takes people through an intermediate page. The intermediate page explains where to ask different kinds of questions.

When we first implemented that feature, we did cut back on the number of miscategorized posts. But we're exploring some other ideas, like maybe a checkbox below the new thread field or the thread preview page that you can check for rules questions and that would automatically route the post to the Q&A.

January 20, 2017 8:38 a.m.

DarkMagician says... #2

Epochalyptik Not trying to argue, that was just my thought process when I made the post. You're 100% correct that it was asking how to make it work rather than the best way to use it so I understand how it can fall into the category of rules questions. I just didn't think it was a rules question since it doesn't directly ask a question that a judge could answer and it wasn't format specific so I thought the general section was the best thread for it. I didn't know what the exact criteria was that makes a question a rules question but now that I have a better understanding I'll try to make sure to post it in the right area. I see a lot of people posting non-rules (think I just made a new word lol) questions in the rules section, maybe a sticky listing the criteria of a rules question could help cut down on that?

January 19, 2017 12:20 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

You asked "how they work," which, to me, is a question about how to execute the combo or about what the cards do that make the combo possible. This is a rules question as far as the site is concerned; whether a judge could or could not answer it for you is not our metric.

If you meant to ask how best to use the combos or why one would use them (strategically speaking), then I don't think that was clear from the way the question was phrased.

Anyway, I just wanted to let you know. This wasn't supposed to be an argument. If you have a suggestion for how we could better handle this sort of thing, I'm open.

January 18, 2017 5:19 p.m.

DarkMagician says... #4

Epochalyptik If a judge at a tournament isn't allowed to answer a question for me then I think it falls outside of the realm of a rules question. I know how to activate each card individually, asking how to use them in unison seems more like a strategy question to me.

January 18, 2017 3:25 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #5

Questions about how cards or combos function are rules questions.

A question about how best to use a combo in a deck or what a combo is strong or weak against is more of a strategy question.

January 18, 2017 3:13 p.m.

DarkMagician says... #6

Epochalyptik Sorry about that, wasn't really a rules question just a question of how to make the combo work.

January 18, 2017 2:47 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #7

The new thread fields all have warning banners that remind users to ask rules questions only in the Q&A. Your rules question has been moved. Please be more careful while posting.

January 18, 2017 7:35 a.m.

Very concise response to "Just a thought", that took much more maturity than I could muster.

January 6, 2017 8:06 a.m.

Please login to comment

Said on Resonating Hunger...

#1

I'm pretty positive I already know the answer but can you use Strionic Resonator to duplicate Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hungers on cast ability?

January 22, 2017 11:07 p.m.

Said on When you cast ......

#2

No because you never cast him so the ability never triggers.

January 22, 2017 11 p.m.

Said on "His or her" ......

#3

Personally I'm indifferent. From a political standpoint however there's only two genders so his or her is all inclusive.

January 22, 2017 6:53 p.m.

Said on Frontier Removal...

#4

Ryjo I prefer Anguished Unmaking for the reduced cost.

January 19, 2017 7:27 p.m.

Said on Frontier Removal...

#5

Kiortio Incoming best.

January 19, 2017 6:24 p.m.

Said on Frontier Removal...

#6

So what's the best removal available in the format and why do you think it's the best? Declaration in Stone has my vote since it exiles rather than destroys (getting around an ensouled Darksteel Citadel) and can hit multiple creatures. Downfall is it won't be hitting that annoying Smuggler's Copter and the clues (but your opponent still has to pay to use those).

January 19, 2017 6:20 p.m.

Said on Will a Future ......

#7

A battle between the Gatewatch and Bolas should leave the Gatewatch shattered even if Bolas is some how defeated. Done right there's an amazing story to be told.

January 19, 2017 1:21 p.m.

Said on DarkMagician...

#8

Epochalyptik Not trying to argue, that was just my thought process when I made the post. You're 100% correct that it was asking how to make it work rather than the best way to use it so I understand how it can fall into the category of rules questions. I just didn't think it was a rules question since it doesn't directly ask a question that a judge could answer and it wasn't format specific so I thought the general section was the best thread for it. I didn't know what the exact criteria was that makes a question a rules question but now that I have a better understanding I'll try to make sure to post it in the right area. I see a lot of people posting non-rules (think I just made a new word lol) questions in the rules section, maybe a sticky listing the criteria of a rules question could help cut down on that?

January 19, 2017 12:20 a.m.

Said on DarkMagician...

#9

Epochalyptik If a judge at a tournament isn't allowed to answer a question for me then I think it falls outside of the realm of a rules question. I know how to activate each card individually, asking how to use them in unison seems more like a strategy question to me.

January 18, 2017 3:25 p.m.

Said on DarkMagician...

#10

Epochalyptik Sorry about that, wasn't really a rules question just a question of how to make the combo work.

January 18, 2017 2:47 p.m.

Said on Explain???...

#11

Thanks

January 18, 2017 12:26 a.m.

Said on Explain???...

#12

Keep seeing these two infinite combos but can't figure out how they work.

January 17, 2017 11:15 p.m.

Fatal Push for the set card. As for my favorite artwork, Lorwyn and Shadowmoor blocks.

January 17, 2017 4:40 p.m.

Said on Card condition...

#14

What do you put inside the brackets to denote damaged cards?

January 16, 2017 11:58 a.m.

Have a foil Vendilion Clique from the original Modern Masters, interested in a ton of different stuff. Let me know if you're interested and I'll take a look at your binder.

January 15, 2017 7:55 p.m.

Zaueski When would that be?

January 13, 2017 1:59 p.m.

Planning on returning to Standard with the new Twin combo but I'm kinda worried there might be a ban on one of the two combo pieces, was wondering what others think of this possibility?

January 12, 2017 8:48 p.m.

Perpetual Trying to stay mono-green with the deck as I'd like to build a deck for each color and each color combination. Also Selvala, Heart of the Wilds only requires me to draw two cards to drop my entire deck.

The_Dragonmaster So then I guess it comes down to Shamanic Revelation vs Garruk, Primal Hunter. Kinda leaning towards Revelation due to Ferocious.

January 12, 2017 12:12 p.m.

In an artifact shell the only walkers that should go before Daretti, Scrap Savant are the first two Tezzerets. Your general's recursion is useless without a stocked graveyard and Daretti stocks it perfectly. Turn two Daretti is absolutely back breaking if he isn't dealt with immediately.

January 10, 2017 10:19 p.m.

With access to Red Daretti, Scrap Savant should be an auto-include, any particular reason as to why you passed on him?

January 10, 2017 8:33 p.m.

Followers

snotice

Decks

Rock Deck

Modern* DarkMagician

185 VIEWS

Holy Armor

Modern* DarkMagician

SCORE: 21 | 30 COMMENTS | 1985 VIEWS | IN 2 FOLDERS

Binder

Unknown* DarkMagician

39 VIEWS

This Might B/U/G You

Commander / EDH* DarkMagician

48 VIEWS

Finished Decks 11
Prototype Decks 10
Drafts 0
Playing since Seventh Edition
Avg. deck rating 21.00
T/O Rank 238
Helper Rank None yet
Favorite formats Commander / EDH, Modern
Good Card Suggestions 4
Venues Taitan Gameshop
Last activity 1 day
Joined 2 years