Copying Imprint

Asked by sonnet666 2 years ago

Prototype Portal + Strionic Resonator

This just came up in a game. If I copy Prototype Portal's ETB trigger with Strionic Resonator and exile two artifacts, what do I pay for Prototype Portal's activated ability, and what happens when I activate it?

filledelanuit says... #1

When you activate it you will get a copy of both artifacts. However the X cost will be the sum of the costs of the artifacts.

April 28, 2015 7:29 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #2

lordoftheshadows is right, and some of the details are explained in the following Rulings Note from Resonator's Gatherer entry:

7/1/2013 In some cases involving linked abilities, an ability requires information about "the exiled card." When this happens, the ability gets multiple answers. If these answers are being used to determine the value of a variable, the sum is used. For example, if Elite Arcanist's enters-the-battlefield ability is copied, two cards are exiled. The value of X in the activation cost of Elite Arcanist's other ability is the sum of the two cards' converted mana costs. As the ability resolves, you create copies of both cards and can cast none, one, or both of the copies in any order.

April 28, 2015 9:39 a.m.

sonnet666 says... #3

That is interesting, and also not what I expected. Thanks.

April 28, 2015 7:39 p.m.

This discussion has been closed