Casting into a resolving stack & priority

Asked by brcap 4 years ago

In a discussion with a friend last night, it became clear we disagreed how the stack / priority works, so i come to the all knowing tapped out for answers.

I had believed that once all players had passed priority, and the stack began resolving, you could not cast instants or activate abilities in response to any one of those abilities resolution. Having looked through the rules, i'm not positive about this anymore?

some examples.

example 1

Griselbrand is targeted by Path to Exile . In response, its controller activates his ability. The opposing player passes priority, and the stack begins to resolve. griselbrand's controller draws 7 cards. At this point, could he choose to activate griselbrand again, while path is still on the stack but yet to resolve?

example 2

In a 3 player game, Player A casts Griselbrand and asks if it resolves? Player B receives priority and takes no action, passing it to player C. Player C takes no action passing it back to A. Is it correct to say that player B cannot then attempt to counter the griselbrand, as he does not regain priority prior to it resolving.

Thanks Guys Reference to the specific rule(s) is appreciated.

Boza says... Accepted answer #1

All these are easily answered by: The topmost object on the stack resolves after each player passes priority without doing anything. There is another round of priority after each object on the stack resolves.

Q1: Yes, he can double-dip on Griselbrand before the path resolves.

Q2: For multiplayer games, priority goes around in turn order after the active player passes it. If you miss your chance to respond to a certain object on the stack, you lose your priority to act.

August 13, 2015 8:46 a.m.

BlueScope says... #2

Players get priority after each spell that's cast, or ability that's put on the stack, as well as after each of the above resolves.

Example 1: Griselbrands ability could be activated again (assuming it's controller is able to pay 7 life).

Example 2: Yes, each player only gets one "chance" to respond to a spell or an ability. That includes the active player, by the way - they cannot respond after knowing that noone will counter Griselbrand, but before it resolves.

Rules Reference (116.3)

August 13, 2015 8:48 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #3

FYI in case you're curious: Before the 6th-Edition rules update it was true that if no one had any more responses then the current batch/series would start to resolve and no one would get any more opportunities to interrupt it. Because of how players tend to learn from each other and pass down knowledge to the next group, this is still a very common misconception of how the current rules work.

August 13, 2015 9:58 a.m.

brcap says... #4

Vindication! ... kinda.

Thanks everone

August 13, 2015 11:15 a.m.

This discussion has been closed