Can I tap a second Mox Opal for mana before statebased actions?

Asked by Kjartan 4 years ago

I control an Ornithopter, a Mox Opal and no lands.

In my hand I have a second Mox Opal and a Blood Moon.

Can I cast my second Mox Opal, thus enabling metalcraft, then proceed to tap both moxen, before, or in response to the legandary rule?

Player3.14 says... Accepted answer #1

No. State based actions can't be responded too. If you had a third artifact though, you could tap the first opal for mana, then play the second, sacing the first, then tap the second for mana.

February 4, 2016 11:57 a.m.

Kjartan says... #2

Player3.14 - Yea though so, just wanted my t1 moon :3.

Thanks anyways.

February 4, 2016 12:01 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

State-based actions happen before players are given priority. You'll never be able to respond to them or preempt them.

Also, the legend rule doesn't cause you to sacrifice anything. The extra permanents are simply put into their owner's graveyard.

February 4, 2016 12:05 p.m.

This discussion has been closed