Atog , sacrificing equipment on other creatures, and how that affects the other creature's damage output.

Asked by bushido_man96 5 months ago

Questions about sacrificing artifacts/enchantments to Atog / Auratog and how combat damage will work out.

Let's say I've got a creature equipped with 3 equipment pumping up a creature, and attack with that creature and Atog . If both creatures deal combat damage, can I sacrifice the equipment attached to the first creature to the Atog to pump up Atog , and still get the damage through that came with the equipment bonuses on the first creature? Or do I lose the equipment bonuses on the first creature because I sac them to pump Atog (and same question in regards to doing the same with Auratog and auras)? Are there some timing concerns I need to be aware of here?

Thanks for the help.

Flooremoji says... #1

Yep, you don't get both bonuses :)

April 18, 2019 5:52 p.m.

Kogarashi says... #2

You would not get the bonuses from both.

In order to get the bonuses on Atog , you would need to sacrifice the equipment by the end of the Declare Blockers step at the latest, as the Combat Damage step begins with all creatures in combat dealing damage at the same time (which doesn't use the stack). After that point, it would be too late to pump Atog and have it deal the boosted damage this combat.

However, by sacrificing the equipment by the end of the Declare Blockers step, the formerly-equipped creature is no longer receiving those bonuses by the time the Combat Damage step begins, and thus will not be doing boosted damage.

April 18, 2019 6:07 p.m.

bushido_man96 says... #3

That answers my questions. Thanks a bunch!

April 18, 2019 11:21 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #4

Note that you can mostly accomplish what you're wanting to do if the other creature holding all the equipment has first strike or double strike. After the creature deals damage in the first strike combat damage step, you can sacrifice equipment to pump Atog before the normal combat damage step begins. Keep in mind that the other creature won't have the bonuses from the equipment anymore in the normal damage step.

April 19, 2019 9:50 a.m.

bushido_man96 says... #5

Rhadamanthus, that is interesting, considering the commander I'm looking at running is Tiana, Ship's Caretaker . So, if Tiana attacks and is not blocked, I will get all the damage from any equipment bonuses, and can then sac them to pump the Atog , and get that damage, too?

April 19, 2019 3:06 p.m.

Kogarashi says... Accepted answer #6

Yes, that works, and then Tiana's ability would recover the sacrificed equipment to your hand at the end step.

And it would work that way with auras and Auratog too.

April 19, 2019 4:13 p.m.

bushido_man96 says... #7

Thank you for taking the time to elaborate further. It helps a lot!

April 20, 2019 1:07 p.m.

Please login to comment