Abyssal persecutionr

Asked by MarloweH 1 year ago

Abyssal Persecutor :"you cant win the game and your opponents cant lose the game" Liliana's Contract :"At the beginning of your upkeep, if you control four or more demons with different names, you win the game" What would happen in the case of having Abyssal Persecutor and 3 other demons out? I would assume the Abyssal Persecutor would override Liliana's Contract and prevent you from winning but im not exactly sure. How do you determine which has "priority" in this case?

FancyTuesday says... Accepted answer #1

Abyssal Persecutor says "you can't win the game..." Nothing can cause you to win the game while you have Abyssal Persecutor in play. This is similar to controlling an effect that says "you cannot gain life" and playing a card that says "you gain X life."

From Abyssal Persecutor's Gatherer rulings:

No game effect can cause you to win the game or cause any opponent to lose the game while you control Abyssal Persecutor. It doesn’t matter whether an opponent has 0 or less life, an opponent is forced to draw a card while their library is empty, an opponent has ten or more poison counters, an opponent is dealt combat damage by Phage the Untouchable, you control Felidar Sovereign and have 40 or more life, or so on. You keep playing.

July 10, 2018 2:02 a.m.

Gidgetimer says... #2

101.2. When a rule or effect allows or directs something to happen, and another effect states that it can’t happen, the “can’t” effect takes precedence.

July 10, 2018 3:31 a.m.

MarloweH says... #3

Thanks for the help. I was pretty sure that was the case but the help cleared that up for sure.

July 10, 2018 12:49 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #4

If you feel like your question has been answered, please mark the response that was the most helpful.

July 10, 2018 6:55 p.m. Edited.

FancyTuesday says... #5

I just wanna thank Gidgetimer for citing that rule, because I knew there was a succinct rule to that effect but I couldn't remember the wording to find it and it was driving me up the wall. In my head I was using the terms "permit/prevent" instead of "allow/can't".

July 10, 2018 9:09 p.m. Edited.

Gidgetimer says... #6

You're very welcome. For future reference 101 is all of the "golden rules of magic" (card text trumps rules, can't beats can, impossible actions are ignored, choices are made in APNAP order).

July 10, 2018 11:25 p.m.

mathijsderouck says... #7

what Rhadamanthus says.

MarloweH, please close topic.

July 11, 2018 9:10 a.m.

Please login to comment