Rhadamanthus
Q&A Decklord -
Please login to comment
Said on
Volrath Shapestealer and …...
#2
It will just be an enchantment, not a creature, though it will have the copied creature's other abilities plus Volrath's copy abilility.
When there are multiple effects modifying an object's characteristics, the game uses a system of "Layers" to determine the final result. Volrath's copy effect applies in Layer 1, but the type-changing effect from Enduring Vitality's ability applies in Layer 4. Layers are applied in order, so even though Volrath's copy effect would make it into an exact copy of a creature, including type, Enduring Vitality's type-changing effect is applied later and Volrath ends up not being a creature.
613.1. The values of an object’s characteristics are determined by starting with the actual object. For a card, that means the values of the characteristics printed on that card. For a token or a copy of a spell or card, that means the values of the characteristics defined by the effect that created it. Then all applicable continuous effects are applied in a series of layers in the following order:
613.1a Layer 1: Rules and effects that modify copiable values are applied.
...
613.1d Layer 4: Type-changing effects are applied. These include effects that change an object’s card type, subtype, and/or supertype.
...
March 25, 2025 8:56 a.m.
Said on
Zaxara, the Exemplary …...
#3
DocChamby: Answers to your question have been up for a while. Since there don't seem to be any follow-ups or corrections that need to be made, I marked one of them as the "Accepted answer" so this topic can move out of the list of unanswered questions. In the future you can take care of this yourself using the "Mark as Answer button on the response that you feel is the most helpful answer to your question.
March 24, 2025 8:59 a.m.
Said on
Consuming Aberration – …...
#4
DonaldFuck: Since it's clear you got a satisfactory answer to your question and there don't seem to be any more follow-ups or corrections that need to be made, I marked it as the "Accepted answer" so this topic can move out of the list of unanswered questions. In the future you can take care of this yourself using the "Mark as Answer" button on the response that you feel is the most helpful answer to your question.
March 20, 2025 8:51 a.m.
Said on
Obby’s Mono Black …...
#5
If you're still looking for some nonbasics to remove, I recommend Horizon of Progress and Mirrorpool.
For the Horizon, it's the most overcosted version of the effect between itself and Terrain Generator, Walking Atlas and Scaretiller, and I don't think you need that level of redundancy given it doesn't feel like you have quite enough card draw to get that many excess lands in your hand in the first place.
For Mirrorpool, it's going to be awkward to activate and your selection of great targets is kind of limited.
March 17, 2025 12:13 p.m. Edited.
Said on
Does cairn wanderer …...
#6
Monomanamaniac: An answer to your question has been up for a while. Since there don't seem to be any follow-ups or corrections that need to be made, I marked it as the "Accepted answer" so this topic can move out of the list of unanswered questions. In the future you can take care of this yourself using the "Mark as Answer" button on the response that you feel is the most helpful answer to your question.
March 13, 2025 11:14 a.m.
Said on
Emrakul, the World …...
#7
Unfortunately no, that won't work. A copy of a spell is still a spell, so Emrakul's "protection from spells" ability means it can't be targeted by a copy of a spell.
To be clear, in case this is part of the question: Emrakul's protection ability that says "protection from spells and from permanents that were cast this turn" is a short way of writing "protection from spells and protection from permanents that were cast this turn". It doesn't mean "protection from spells that were cast this turn and protection from permanents that were cast this turn". If Emrakul only had protection from spells that were cast this turn, specifically, then this would work because Reverberate doesn't cast the copy of the spell, it just creates it directly on the stack.
March 10, 2025 9:11 a.m.
Friends
SpaceNinja — somnolence — cdannis5 — phulshof — Sudain — Lortek — MagnorCriol — planar_snap — Forlorn — mafteechr — shadowhaxor — KrazyCaley — KorApprentice — ManaPoolChewie — mistergreen527 — Recalcitrant041 — Ohthenoises — ThePhasewalker — Gambit — Mishraharad — Randerolph91 — xantm70 — Askani28 — shifterfox — Emrakool — HarbingerJK — TheDynamiteKid9498 — Ekuryua — alexsmith21 — Galdor — patrickloyd — PinballWitch — Devilsmage — zzzzsman — Coconut42 — VioletBlaze — Its_Johnny_Bravo — StarkMaximum — Bosclone — merrowMania — eureka7 — ExiledTheShow — thx1981 — yeaGO — melie — thewachman — C0rD3el — FancyTuesday — Andramalech — Stomphoof — Bishop2024 — panahinuva — jars — Tosus — TheJaceKid — StorkMSU — Cramble — FWulf — tonyroomz — Agito9 — stopthehumens — permhole96 — DapperDane — Thetytykid — Charles Smith — DeadpoolMX360 — gograntgo — beach7125 — DelverOfSecrets — theflavorofred — TehPlutoKiss — Mondryn — SqueeGoblnNabob — indiexsunrise — gehhlima — DarkFreak777 — DmXIII — Nightwing690 — SoWaPPodcast — mtgcardadvantage — Samurai1 — Ctatyk — Somnambulist — Pigsofa — chrismezzz — K1tfox501 — bip — NerdPop140 — Teele — WarCartographer — BlueEyesRedMage — alejandroaudio — kabrazell — professormystery — Cosmonautilis — Bigby669 — KyrSolusoya — DRAGONLORDkolghan2 — Moltenronrick — corktronomus — LordBirry — crazyknight27 — jcroskam — CaptainRedZone — blueram1409 — darkr3x — jack_from_nc — Flyinlion — Wendigo4481 — ExiledTMPFollowers
SpaceNinja — somnolence — cdannis5 — Sudain — Lortek — planar_snap — Forlorn — mafteechr — shadowhaxor — KorApprentice — ManaPoolChewie — mistergreen527 — Recalcitrant041 — Ohthenoises — Gambit — Mishraharad — Randerolph91 — Askani28 — shifterfox — Emrakool — HarbingerJK — TheDynamiteKid9498 — Ekuryua — alexsmith21 — Galdor — patrickloyd — PinballWitch — Devilsmage — zzzzsman — VioletBlaze — Its_Johnny_Bravo — StarkMaximum — Bosclone — merrowMania — eureka7 — thx1981 — C0rD3el — FancyTuesday — Andramalech — jasonhuebner — Stomphoof — Bishop2024 — panahinuva — jars — TheJaceKid — StorkMSU — Cramble — FWulf — tonyroomz — Agito9 — permhole96 — DapperDane — Thetytykid — Charles Smith — DeadpoolMX360 — gograntgo — DelverOfSecrets — theflavorofred — TehPlutoKiss — Mondryn — indiexsunrise — gehhlima — DarkFreak777 — DmXIII — Nightwing690 — Samurai1 — chrismezzz — K1tfox501 — bip — Teele — WarCartographer — BlueEyesRedMage — alejandroaudio — kabrazell — professormystery — Cosmonautilis — Bigby669 — KyrSolusoya — DRAGONLORDkolghan2 — Wendigo4481MTG Decks
Scion of the Ur-Dragon
Commander / EDH
SCORE: 72 | 131 COMMENTS | 168554 VIEWS | IN 74 FOLDERS
Muldrotha, the Gravetide
Commander / EDH
92 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER
Jor Kadeen, the Prevailer
Commander / EDH
SCORE: 4 | 7 COMMENTS | 1709 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER
Fumiko the Lowblood
Commander / EDH
SCORE: 64 | 47 COMMENTS | 25343 VIEWS | IN 20 FOLDERS
5-Color
Casual
SCORE: 12 | 30 COMMENTS | 40793 VIEWS | IN 6 FOLDERS
Dakkon Blackblade
Commander / EDH
SCORE: 9 | 33 COMMENTS | 8665 VIEWS | IN 2 FOLDERS
Finished Decks | 106 |
Prototype Decks | 7 |
Drafts | 2 |
Playing since | Ice Age |
Points | 495 |
Avg. deck rating | 10.63 |
T/O Rank | 27 |
Helper Rank | 86 |
Cards suggested / good suggestions | 58 / 46 |
Venues | Lucky's Card Shop, The Toy Factory |
Cards Added/Fixed | 9 |
Joined | 14 years |
Said on Spell Copy Targeting …...
#1Unfortunately this won't work. Precursor Golem's ability triggers whenever a Golem becomes the target of a single-target instant/sorcery. This happens during the casting process of that spell, or the copying process, if it's being targeted by a copy of a spell. The first opportunity anyone has to make a response is after the ability has already triggered and has been put onto the stack (on top of the spell that triggered it). Responding by changing the Golem's creature type won't go back in time and "un-trigger" the ability.
If Precursor Golem's trigger was written with an "intervening 'if' clause" (e.g. "Whenever a player casts an instant or sorcery spell, if that spell targets a single Golem, ...") then this would work, since the trigger would check the condition again before it started resolving, but that's not how the Golem's rules text is written.
March 26, 2025 9:44 a.m. Edited.