Would Archive Trap work in this instance?

Asked by GorehoundABB 7 years ago

I play Extirpate . After the effect resolves, would I be able to cast Archive Trap for 0?

I have a feeling the answer is no but doesn't hurt to clarify.

Matsi883 says... #1

No. You're doing the searching, not your opponent.

July 7, 2014 2:30 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #2

You were the one who searched your opponent's library, not your opponent, so Archive Trap 's alternative cost can't be applied.

July 7, 2014 2:30 p.m.

GorehoundABB says... #3

Damn finding cards that work with Archive Trap is going to be a pain.

July 7, 2014 2:33 p.m.

Matsi883 says... #4

Fetchlands

July 7, 2014 2:36 p.m.

GorehoundABB says... #5

Matsi883 Thats a given. I was looking for more ways to force my opponent to searching for a cards so I can chain cast more than 1 Archive Trap for a win. Stuff on the lines of Ghost Quarter and Path to Exile

July 7, 2014 2:41 p.m.

bigriver says... #6

Hi I know this is a year-old question, but I was wondering the same thing. Collective Voyage and Maralen of the Mornsong I believe are literally the only cards where an opponent is FORCED to search their library (there are of course tons of cards giving your opponent the choice to search their library). And Incoming! if you want to count non-tournament cards.

December 17, 2015 11:33 a.m.

This discussion has been closed