What happens when you copy Day's Undoing
Asked by Milester856 9 years ago
what happens when i trigger Pyromancer Ascension with a Day's Undoing after the ascension has the 2 or more counters, do we just do the process twice? But does it end your turn after the first copy so you cant use the second copy?
Gidgetimer says... #2
Raging_Squiggle has it right all the way up their note. That note is unfortunately wrong because of an edit to the rules in July. The current comprehensive rules contain this entry in section 713. Ending the Turn.
713.1a If there are any triggered abilities that triggered before this process began but havent been put onto the stack yet, those abilities cease to exist. They wont be put onto the stack.
November 20, 2015 7:05 a.m.
Raging_Squiggle says... #3
Notice how your ruling says "...before this process began..." And I said "During the resolution of the copy."
6/22/2015 _If any triggered abilities do trigger during this process, theyre put onto the stack during the cleanup step. If this happens, players will have a chance to cast spells and activate abilities, then there will be another cleanup step before the turn ends._
This was taken directly from the Gatherer's Website for Day's Undoing.
November 20, 2015 10:02 a.m.
Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #4
"This process" in both the ruling and the comprehensive rules is referring to the process of ending the turn. All other triggers that happen during the resolution of Day's Undoing (drawing and shuffling triggers) will not go on the stack. Anything that triggered while ending the turn (ones triggered because of something that happened when checking SBA) will go on the stack.
There are exactly 3 cards that end the turn. Time Stop, Sundial of the Infinite, and Day's Undoing. Two of those cards only end the turn so anything that has triggered will be put on the stack before the process of ending the turn begins. This means that there will only be one scenario when there are abilities that have triggered but not gone on the stack. This is when something triggers on draw or shuffle during Day's Undoing.
November 20, 2015 11:05 a.m.
Raging_Squiggle says... #5
Scratch that, my note is incorrect.
during the process refers to the act of ending the turn. Anything before that, spells or abilites on the stack, or abilites waiting to be Put on the stack are all exiled. But I think my original post is good everywhere else.
November 20, 2015 11:09 a.m.
Gidgetimer says... #6
Also more supporting evidence from Matt Tabak's (the current rules manager) tumblr
November 20, 2015 11:10 a.m.
Raging_Squiggle says... #7
Yeah I also just saw that from searching the interaction with Day's Undoing + Nekusar, the Mindrazer . lol. My bad.
November 20, 2015 11:15 a.m.
Gidgetimer says... #8
It's fine. It is just that once there is a contention of 2 fairly knowledgeable people on these boards it helps to provide as much evidence as possible so that there is hard proof one way or another to clear all doubt.
But to answer the original question, ending the turn as the copy resolves exiles the original and it will not resolve.
Raging_Squiggle says... #1
If you cast a Day's Undoing, triggering the Ascension's copy ability, the copy goes on the stack on top of the original spell. The copy resolves, exiling itself, the original Day's Undoing off the stack, and any other spells or abilities on the stack. The original spell never resolves and the process of resolving a Day's Undoing happens only once via the copy.
Note: Any abilities that trigger during the resolution of Day's Undoing go on to the stack at the cleanup step. Day's Undoing does not exile any abilities that are waiting to be put on the stack.
November 20, 2015 1:13 a.m.