What happens if...?

Asked by Exteez 9 years ago

I have a Slippery Bogle, then put a Alpha Authority on it, then put a Lure on it, and i attack. Let's say the opponent has 10 Black Cat all of them untapped. How many of them are gonna block my creature?

TheHelvault says... #1

Just 1. I love Lure

March 26, 2016 4:22 p.m.

wasianpower says... #2

This is really more of a question for the rules Q&A section. To answer your question, since Lure says all creatures able to block it do so, and Alpha Authority says it can only be blocked by one creature, once one creature blocks it the others will be unable to do so and thus will not.

March 26, 2016 4:25 p.m.

Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #3

In order to block the Bogle, there are 2 conditions:

  1. All creatures must block if able.

  2. It cannot be blocked by more than one creature.

The ability from Alpha Authority restricts how many can block it. Once one Black Cat is declared as a blocker, which fulfills condition 2, the rest are unable to block which also fulfills condition 1 because they can only block "if able".

Note that even if the opponent tries to declare all the kitties as blockers, the games checks to see if any illegal blocks have been made, and if so, backs up the game so blockers can be declared again, correctly. Blocking with more than 1 kitty is an illegal play so he must fix it accordingly.

March 26, 2016 4:47 p.m.

TMBRLZ says... #4

You would have to find a different worded card but I see the enigma you're trying to pinpoint here.

If you had two cards that actually conflicted with each other in this regard (which is unlikely - because Wizards chose their words very carefully when it came to the "only one creature" concept), it would boil down to a matter of timestamps due to layering.

March 28, 2016 11:42 a.m.

This discussion has been closed