Vesuva - Land type
Asked by Not_Sure 3 years agoVesuva may enter the battlefield as a copy of any land on the battlefield. If Vesuva enters the battlefield as a copy of Mountain , does the land type change to basic land? Can Vesuva be searched for with a card like Rampant Growth , if it can enter the battlefield as a basic land; or is it considered a (non-basic) land until it is drawn (or received under different ruling) and enters the battlefield from the hand?
Understanding that there is already a basic land on the battlefield Vesuva may enter the battlefield as a copy of.
December 23, 2015 3:47 a.m.
Vesuva is not a basic land until it enters the battlefield based on the meaning of it's text, so it can't be searched as if it's a basic land. Although, cards that are copies pick up about everything from the card it copies including supertypes (the supertype "basic land" in this case), so Vesuva itself on the battlefield would be a basic land if it copied the mountain. This would be true for Forests, Plains, Swamps, and Islands, also.
P.S. I hope my answer wasn't too confusing!
December 23, 2015 3:58 a.m.
You can not search for it as a land of your choice. You can only search for it as a non-basic land. When it enters the battlefield though, if you choose to make it a mountain for example, then you can fiddle with it as though it were a basic mountain.
December 23, 2015 6:29 a.m.
Vesuva is what's printed on the card anywhere outside the battlefield. If you choose to have it enter the battlefield as a copy of a Mountain, for example, then it will have all characteristics of that card, including the Basic supertype.
There are cards that have characteristic-defining abilities (CDAs) which work everywhere (such as Tarmogoyf, or Devoid cards), but Vesuva's ability is a plain old static ability that will do exactly what it says - and that doesn't happen until it enters the battlefield.