two part question about extort and Crypt Ghast

Asked by doodkyle 5 years ago

I noticed in the rules that you chose to pay the extort after a spell has resolved. does that mean, if i play Thrull Parasite , and if i have two lands, i can pay for the extort for casting thrull parasite? the other question is about Crypt Ghast . if i have two crypt ghasts on the field does that mean i add two (b) to my mana pool in addition to my swamp, or is the ability redundant?

Darthpwnu says... #1

1.) No, its Extort ability won't trigger as it isn't already on the battlefield. You can only use Extort from permanents that already exist on the battlefield.

2.) You add B from the swamp, B from the first Crypt Ghast then B from the second Crypt Ghast. So in total a swamp will tap for BBB

May 26, 2014 3:44 p.m.

doodkyle says... Accepted answer #2

I miss read the rules. It says: "You may pay (w/b) a maximum of one time for each extort triggered ability. You decide whether to pay when the ability resolves.does this mean if someone uses Cancel to prevent the card i am trying to extort i don't have to tap my lands, being that the ability never resolved

May 26, 2014 3:46 p.m.

erabel says... #3

  1. You've got this one backwards. Since extort triggers on the cast of a spell, if your Thrull Parasite has resolved, it's too late for its instance of Extort to trigger.
  2. Two Crypt Ghast s stack. Each one has a triggered ability that triggers on tapping a Swamp for mana, and each happens separately. So, one Swamp would give you three mana if you had two Crypt Ghast s.
May 26, 2014 3:46 p.m.

megawurmple says... #4

doodkyle Regarding comment #2, you've clearly gotten a bit confused about extort. When you cast a spell, the extort abilities of your permanents trigger and are put on the stack on top of the original spell. The extort triggers will resolve before the original spell, so you pay the extort cost then, as the extort ability resolves. Also, countering the original spell will not affect the extort triggers at all and they will still resolve as normal, even if the original spell doesn't.

May 26, 2014 6:52 p.m.

kmcree says... #5

Please remember to select an answer so this question stops appearing as unanswered.

May 27, 2014 1:30 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #6

Ask unrelated questions in separate threads.

May 27, 2014 4:23 a.m.

This discussion has been closed