The Rules 306.7 dealing opponent damage redirect to player
Asked by BaBaBLaCkSHeeT 11 years ago
Now from a previous question from my understanding any non-combat damage dealt to a player can be redirected at a planes walker?
Therefore, casting a shock at a player for two but choosing redirect the two damage to a planeswalker for -2 loyalty counters. If resolved would trigger Guttersnipe , therefore triggering the affect and again redirecting at planeswalker to kill a initial 4 loyalty counter planeswalker?
Or can you not redirect damage done to an "opponent". This would also be related to the ability on Satyr Firedancer is a planeswalker consider an opponent?
I read before that a planeswalker is considered an opponent a player controls. Or is this misleading?
I suppose I'm confused on if it must say player or an opponent to redirect to a planeswalker?
Or are both terms the same? Example Lightning Strike Shock one states opponent one states player.
This was a rather big debate at a local tournament so rule linking a at end would be much appreciated!Thanks in advance
102.2. In a two-player game, a players opponent is the other player.
102.3. In a multiplayer game between teams, a players teammates are the other players on his or her team, and the players opponents are all players not on his or her team.
Regardless of whether a card says opponent or player, as long as you are dealing non-combat damage to an opposing player you can redirect it to a planeswalker that player controls. A planeswalker controlled by another player is not considered one of your opponents.
Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1
If you would deal noncombat damage to an opponent, you may redirect that damage to a planeswalker he or she controls instead. It doesn't matter how the effect identifies the opponent - only that the damage would be dealt to an opponent.
Satyr Firedancer 's ability won't trigger because the damage was redirected and ultimately dealt to a planeswalker, not to an opponent. Only players can be opponents. Planeswalkers are permanents.
You referenced the relevant ruling yourself: 306.7
306.7. If noncombat damage would be dealt to a player by a source controlled by an opponent, that opponent may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker the first player controls instead. This is a redirection effect (see rule 614.9) and is subject to the normal rules for ordering replacement effects (see rule 616). The opponent chooses whether to redirect the damage as the redirection effect is applied.
February 6, 2014 12:23 a.m.