Sundial of the Infinite + Unearth?

Asked by joshyd 13 years ago

if i unearth a creature with Sedris, the Traitor King and before the end of the turn activate Sundial of the Infinite , would the unearthed creature still be removed from the game??

mozerdozer says... #1

No. The reminder text for unearth says at the beginning of the end step, not the beginning of the NEXT end step and thus will trigger every end step. You can exile the trigger on your turn, but the trigger to exile the creature will reactivate on your opponent's end step and thus it will be exiled then.

August 21, 2011 3:44 p.m.

Elmarias says... #2

Sundial's "trick" works with "at the beginning of the next end step" triggers, like Mimic Vat 's (so that the token stays on the battlefield). it clearly states "until end of turn" effects end. since unearth does not use the stack but is processed during cleanup and not "at the beginning of the end step" unearthed creatures still go away.Here's the non-reminder text version of the process:

712.1. Two cards (Time Stop and Sundial of the Infinite ) end the turn. When an effect ends the turn, follow these steps in order, as they differ from the normal process for resolving spells and abilities (see rule 608, "Resolving Spells and Abilities").

712.1a Exile every object on the stack, including the object that's resolving. Remove all creatures and planeswalkers (including those that are phased out) from combat. All objects not on the battlefield or in the command zone that aren't represented by cards will cease to exist the next time state-based actions are checked (see rule 704, "State-Based Actions").

712.1b Check state-based actions. No player gets priority, and no triggered abilities are put onto the stack.

712.1c The current phase and/or step ends. The game skips straight to the cleanup step. Skip any phases or steps between this phase or step and the cleanup step.

August 21, 2011 3:50 p.m.

Siegfried says... #3

Actually, look at the updated text for Sedris, from Gatherer: "Each creature card in your graveyard has unearth 2B. (2B: Return the card to the battlefield. The creature gains haste. Exile it at the beginning of the next end step or if it would leave the battlefield. Unearth only as a sorcery.)

This leads me to believe that Sundial of the Infinite would, in fact, allow Unearthed creatures to stay on the battlefield, since the exile clause does only trigger at the next end step.

August 21, 2011 9:42 p.m.

mafteechr says... #4

Siegfried is correct.

702.82a Unearth is an activated ability that functions while the card with unearth is in a graveyard. Unearth [cost] means [Cost]: Return this card from your graveyard to the battlefield. It gains haste. Exile it at the beginning of the next end step. If it would leave the battlefield, exile it instead of putting it anywhere else. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery.

603.7. An effect may create a delayed triggered ability that can do something at a later time. A delayed triggered ability will contain when, whenever, or at, although that word wont usually begin the ability.

603.7b A delayed triggered ability will trigger only once, the next time its trigger event occurs, unless it has a stated duration, such as this turn.

With the updated rules text, unearth contains a delayed triggered ability which triggers once during the next end step. Thus, Sundial of the Infinite can successfully be activated to keep unearthed creatures on the battlefield indefinitely.

More on Sundial of the Infinite :

http://mtgknowledgepool.tumblr.com/post/8544400171/sundial-of-the-infinite

August 21, 2011 10:34 p.m.

BrightGreenLine says... Accepted answer #5

Answering the question exactly as it was asked, no you cannot activate Sundial of the Infinite before the end step to keep your unearthed creatures forever.

Unearth waits for the next end step to happen, and if you end your turn before you get there it will patiently wait for your opponent's end step instead. You have to wait until your end step happens and the delayed triggers from unearth go on the stack, and THEN activate your sundial.

Also to note, if you do this: The static effect from Unearth doesn't end. Reading 702.8.2a, Unearth creates 2 effects: One delayed trigger for the next end step, and one static effect that applies as long as that creature is on the battlefield. If your opponent bounces your unearthed creature during their turn it will be exiled, even if you successfully munched the exile trigger with Sundial on your turn.

There is one way you can get around Unearth's exile replacement effect though: Exile your own creatures. The static effect for Unearth says "If it would leave the battlefield, exile it instead." The important part is 'instead'; if the creature is already being exiled, it will be exiled by that effect and not Unearth. Faceless Butcher , Wormfang Drake , and others are abilities that can exile your own creatures to return later.

August 22, 2011 3:12 a.m.

steveoowns says... #6

BrightGreenLine Makes me wonder, if an unearthed creature were destroyed and I have a Mimic Vat would I be able to put my unearth under the vat?

July 8, 2015 6:45 p.m.

Scavin says... #7

steveoowns Unearth creates a replacement effect which exiles, Imprint needs the enters the graveyard trigger so they don't interact

July 10, 2015 12:24 p.m.

This discussion has been closed