Spell Snare

Asked by w34ky 6 years ago

If I tap 1 forest for Green Sun's Zenith to get a Dryad Arbor can my opponent counter it with Spell Snare ?

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

While a spell is on the stack, X counts as whatever value was chosen for it. Everywhere else, it's 0.

In this case, X=0 because that's the value you chose while casting Green Sun's Zenith . This means Zenith has a CMC of 0 + G = 1, and is not a legal target for Spell Snare .

August 4, 2014 12:06 p.m.

w34ky says... #2

That is what I had figured. Thanks

August 4, 2014 12:07 p.m.

GreatSword says... #3

No. You're casting Green Sun's Zenith where X=0, so its CMC is 1. Spell Snare can only counter a spell with CMC of 2.

August 4, 2014 12:09 p.m.

jonhydude says... #4

Just to clarify, the value of x does not affect the cmc of the card.

August 5, 2014 6:02 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #5

It does when it's a spell on the stack.

202.3b When calculating the converted mana cost of an object with an X in its mana cost, X is treated as 0 while the object is not on the stack, and X is treated as the number chosen for it while the object is on the stack.

August 5, 2014 9:34 a.m.

Although X is treated as a number on the stack, the X still doesn't actually affect the cmc. The cmc of X cars are always, only the number of non-X mana you spend on it. For example, no matter how much mana you spend on Mistcutter Hydra it's cmc will always be 1. You can look this issue up.

August 5, 2014 9:48 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #7

I just posted the relevant rule. Please read it carefully.

August 5, 2014 9:56 a.m.

This discussion has been closed