Some details about Squelch rulings.
Asked by PValBlanc 10 years ago
I'm wondering, if I counter an activated ability, are costs still payed? Specifically, If I squelch a fetchland, is it still sacrificed, or just tapped, or god forbid, neither?Or if I squelch a planeswalker ability, is the loyalty still spent/gained?
Thanks for the info. Gatherer was rather unclear on the subject.
billpasdmf says... #2
When use a Counterspell, the costs of whatever spell that is being countered are still cast. There's no reason to assume that this will work any differently. Squelch cannot counter something that is not on the stack. Which is to say that an ability cannot be placed on the stack without its costs being paid.
So, short answer: yes. Costs have still been payed.
February 2, 2015 12:43 p.m.
Thought so. Thank y'all, and I apologize for your fetches.
Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1
In the same way that costs for a spell stay paid after being hit with Cancel, etc., so do the costs for an ability after Squelch. Stifle on a fetch-land activation is a real thing that can happen to people in Legacy (it's not very pleasant).
February 2, 2015 12:42 p.m.