Sigarda, Redirect, Oblivion Ring and Clone???

Asked by Gimpusoid 10 years ago

Okay, so, I'm not the most knowledgeable of my fellow players when it comes to ruling but this doesn't make sense to me.

Sigarda can't be the target of Oblivion Ring, yet you can't Redirect Oblivion Ring as it doesn't target???

Yet you can have Clone enter the battlefield as a copy of Sigarda as it doesn't target???

Can someone explain please????

GoblinsInc says... Accepted answer #1

Sigarda can't be the target of Oblivion Ring,

Correct. Hexproof means she can't be targetted by things the opponent (you) control. Oblivion Ring's ability targets.

yet you can't Redirect Oblivion Ring as it doesn't target???

Because the part of oblivion ring that targets is an ability and not a spell. Redirect only changes the target of a spell.

Yet you can have Clone enter the battlefield as a copy of Sigarda as it doesn't target???

Clone doesn't target, so hexproof doesn't stop it from working. Note the lack of the word "Target" on clone.

November 18, 2014 10:24 p.m.

Gimpusoid says... #2

Thanks, makes perfect sense when explained properly. Knew why Clone worked but why Oblivion ring didn't was messing me up, it's ability is doing the targeting, gotcha :)

November 18, 2014 10:29 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

Link all cards in your question.
Sigarda, Host of Herons
Oblivion Ring
Redirect
Clone

November 18, 2014 10:50 p.m.

This discussion has been closed