Searing Blaze multiple landfall?

Asked by V0ldy 6 years ago

What happens if I cast a Searing Blaze triggering 2 fetchlands in the same turn?

I mean:

Turn 1:

Turn 2:

What happens now? Does the landfall triggers 3 times for a total of 1 + 3x3 bonus landfall damage or it procs only once?

Devonin says... Accepted answer #1

No, landfall in this case just says "Did a land enter the battlefield at some point this turn?" and if yes, you get the improved effect. It doesn't matter how many times it says yes, just that it does.

Compare that to Steppe Lynx which just has a triggered ability on landfall, rather than a replacement effect.

November 18, 2014 8:55 a.m.

V0ldy says... #2

Oh, ok thanks.Searing Blaze is a bit weird being an instant, I have only recently started again to play magic was used only to landfall on permanents!

November 18, 2014 8:59 a.m.

Devonin says... #3

Put more simply: Even if multiple lands entering caused the effect of Searing Blaze to happen multiple times, all it does is replace the text with other text, it doesn't add anything. So replacing it ten times would still leave you with "Deal 3 and 3" at the end.

November 18, 2014 9 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #4

The main reason Landfall is an "ability word" (like Raid or Ferocious) rather than a keyword ability (like Outlast or Delve) is because each such ability on the various cards doesn't work in exactly the same way as the others. They're just given the same label to make it clear they were all designed around a particular concept. You have to read each one carefully to determine how it works. Permanents with Landfall happen to have abilities that trigger whenever a land enters the battlefield under your control, but spells with Landfall just check once to see if any lands have entered so far this turn.

November 18, 2014 noon

This discussion has been closed