Riku stacks help

Asked by KanisxKoda 1 week ago

Hey there, So last night my friend and I were playing edh and he was trying to resolve a Riku copy spell trigger. His scenario Riku on field, Tapped out to play frantic search, Trigger Riku ability on the stack. Resolve frantic search +2,-2 draw, untap lands. pay for riku copy of spell. Is that viable play? The way I read and thought about Riku trigger for copy spell is whenever you cast a spell the trigger gets placed on the stack and you can choose to pay on resolution: as in I have no counter spell so it resolves, you pay, then stack cards effects trigger Is he allowed to stack it in such way that you can copy the spell after it resolves?

Reznorboy says... #1

As soon as the spell is cast, you must immediately pay the cost if you are going to copy. As soon as a spell does what it says to do, it can no longer be copied.

November 21, 2020 10:13 a.m.

griffstick says... #2

Riku is a cast trigger.

November 21, 2020 10:16 a.m.

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #3

A couple of administrative points before I get into my response.

There is a rules Q&A section that is frequented by many very knowledgeable users that is a better place for this type of question.

Please link cards using double brackets so that people can see the wording on cards.

Riku of Two Reflections

Frantic Search

Riku's instant/sorcery ability is a cast trigger. Cast triggers go on the stack above the spell that triggered them. This means that the trigger will resolve first and the must be paid at this time. If the mana is not paid, the trigger has no effect.

November 21, 2020 11:07 a.m.

griffstick says... #4

That was the perfect answer

November 21, 2020 12:33 p.m.

KanisxKoda says... #5

Thank you all so much.

And sorry about not using brackets. One of few times I've ever posted and was unsure how to link cards in comments.

November 21, 2020 12:45 p.m.

Please login to comment