Planeswalkers turned into creatures?
Asked by Bellock86 11 years ago
This is my question and I'll try to keep it as straightforward as possible
The set up is as follows:
I have Sydri, Galvanic Genius on the field as well as Mycosynth Lattice , Tezzeret, Agent of Bolas (say at this point I have already used his +1) and Deadeye Navigator .
I have, at this point, the ability to create infinite mana (how is not important)
My question is three fold ~ now that Tezzeret, Agent of Bolas is an artifact planeswalker can I use Sydri, Galvanic Genius to turn him (tezzeret) into a creature?
If yes, that means I can also souldbond it to Deadeye Navigator by blinking out navigator.
Here's where I get a little stuck. If I blink Tezzeret, Agent of Bolas by the aforementioned set up, can I then use his abilities again and again by using my infinite mana ( that I can spend as if it were any color thanks to Mycosynth Lattice ) to repeatedly blink tezzeret, turn him back into a creature with sydri, and blink navigator to re-soulbond tezzeret to it?
I understand this is very long and has a lot of moving parts / steps but the idea of repeatedly using Tezzeret, Agent of Bolas 's +1 to basically tutor all the artifacts I need just seems fun.
Also this is in an EDH deck and I don't run cards that can outright win with infinite mana such as Blue Sun's Zenith because it ticks off my friends and that's one of our house rules.
This works, but it will take a little tricky stack manipulation. The problem is that if you blink Tezzeret normally, Navigator will lose it's soulbond blink ability and can't be repaired with Tezzeret when Tezzeret re-enters because Tezzeret isn't a creature. This can be solved, but it's a little tricky, so I'll lay it out in steps.
Activate an ability from Tezzeret (+1 or -1)
Activate Deadeye Navigator's blink ability, but do not let it resolve.
Activated Tezzeret's blink ability, and allow it to resolve. Deadeye's blink is still on the stack.
Turn the blinked Tezzeret into a creature with Sydri. Deadeye's blink is still on the stack.
Allow Deadeye to blink and repair it with the now a creature Tezzeret.
Repeat 1-5 as many times as you like (assuming infinite mana).
Hope this helps!
March 9, 2014 12:49 p.m.
nighthawk101 says... #3
...I don't see any reason as to why that shouldn't work.
You may have a little too much time on your hands, though :)
March 9, 2014 12:49 p.m.
@williamgp99 ~ yeah you may have a point. Lol
@raithe000 ~ actually thank you for pointing that out. I completely forgot about the Deadeye Navigator losing the ability. That could have been embarassing the first time I tried it and messed up the stack lol
Bellock86 says... #1
Thanks to anyone who takes a look at this and humors my eccentricities.
March 9, 2014 12:37 p.m.