Other Creatures are 1/1

Asked by JRobot 11 years ago

I was looking at [Godhead of Awe] and I don't understand what other Creatures are 1/1 means. Does it affect all creatures or mine or my opponents creatures, and would it affect creatures coming into the battlefield?

wcdorrell says... Accepted answer #1

Godhead of Awe

It means that all creatures, yours and theirs, other than Godhead of Awe have a power and toughness of 1/1. Yes it affects all creatures entering the battlefield as well.

November 16, 2013 12:46 p.m.

JRobot says... #2

And if [Godhead of Awe] was destroyed would all creatures return to normal power and toughness?

November 16, 2013 12:53 p.m.

-Orvos- says... #3

Godhead of Awe effects all other creatures. Meaning all creatures other than Godhead of Awe are 1/1's. This does not effect modifying enchantments/equipment/or +X/+X instant or sorceries though. Meaning that if you have both Godhead of Awe and a Rampaging Baloths on the field, the Rampaging Baloths will be 1/1, but say it is equipped with the Sword of War and Peace it will then be a 3/3.

If you happen to have two Godhead of Awe on the battlefield at the same time they will both be 1/1 because they are both "other" creatures to the other Godhead of Awe .

November 16, 2013 12:55 p.m.

-Orvos- says... #4

Yes if Godhead of Awe was destroyed all creatures would return to their original X/X power and toughness.

just a tip: use two [ to link the card for example [ [ Mirari ] ] (without the spaces) is Mirari

November 16, 2013 12:57 p.m.

JRobot says... #5

Alright thanks

November 16, 2013 12:58 p.m.

JRobot says... #6

Oh what about Modifying abilities because I have cards such as Thistledown Liege would those work?

November 16, 2013 1:01 p.m.

agGravity says... #7

Both of the effect are applied in the layer 7: Power- and/or toughness-changing effects are applied.

The layer system is a bit complicated and is probably the most complex rules, even I without checking the rule I can't always be sure. But this question can be quite simplified only to layer 7.

613.3. Within layer 7, apply effects in a series of sublayers in the order described below. Within each sublayer, apply effects in timestamp order. (See rule 613.6.) Note that dependency may alter the order in which effects are applied within a sublayer. (See rule 613.7.)
613.3a Layer 7a: Effects from characteristic-defining abilities that define power and/or toughness are applied. See rule 604.3.
613.3b Layer 7b: Effects that set power and/or toughness to a specific number or value are applied.
613.3c Layer 7c: Effects that modify power and/or toughness (but dont set power and/or toughness to a specific number or value) are applied.
613.3d Layer 7d: Power and/or toughness changes from counters are applied. See rule 121, Counters.

Based on this, the first effect that will be applied is in sublayer 7b meaning that the effect of Godhead of Awe comes first and in layer 7c the effect Thistledown Liege is applied next.

November 16, 2013 1:16 p.m.

-Orvos- says... #8

Basically what agGravity is saying is that yes any effects that add to the power or toughness whether creature, enchantment, artifact, land, emblems, or counters. Godhead of Awe basically only changes the base power and toughness that you determine all of the modifiers off of.

November 16, 2013 1:59 p.m.

This discussion has been closed