non-combat regeneration
Asked by joshyd 13 years ago
can a creature targeted by a Doom Blade be regenerated? how about in the wake of a day-of-judgement? or if targeted by Lightning Bolt ? in short, how does regeneration affect creatures destroyed in non-combat situations?
ThiagoMaia says... #2
Hmm, what happens if an attacking creature is targeted by doom blade and is regenarated? Does it still cause combat damage?
What about a creature which receives lethal damage by a creature with first strike and is regenerated?
July 13, 2011 11:19 a.m.
If the attacking creature is targeted by Doom Blade and then regenerated before blockers are declared, then the attacking creature is removed from combat, set to 0 damage and is tapped... I believe it is the other way around if it happens after blockers are declared and the creature would be tapped and set to 0 damage but would still assign its damage...
If the creature receives lethal damage by a creature with first strike and it regenerates, the creature with first strike would still be able to deal normal combat damage to the regenerated creature...
At least I am sure that is the way it works...
July 13, 2011 12:24 p.m.
http404error says... #4
Since damage doesn't go on the stack, the Doom Blade must be cast before damage (i.e. Declare Blockers or something). If that's the case, then the regenerated creature is removed from combat before it deals damage.
The situation is very similar with first strike; the regenerating creature will be removed from combat before it can deal damage.
July 13, 2011 12:35 p.m.
xxxxxxCronoxxxxxx says... #5
if you doom blade a creature wile in combat and its regenerated it will be removed from combat
July 13, 2011 3:24 p.m.
Epochalyptik says... #6
If a creature with a regeneration shield would be destroyed during combat, but before combat damage, it is removed from combat, set to 0 damage, and tapped. Since it is no longer in combat, it will not deal or be dealt combat damage.
It also loses its status as an attacking or blocking creature. Any creatures it was blocked by or blocking are still in combat and retain their status as a blocking or blocked creature.
Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1
It works essentially the same way, except the creature cannot be "removed from combat" because it is not yet or not currently in combat. The creature will still be restored to a state of 0 damage and tapped.
Effects that say "destroy" will always specify if the target/affected creature(s) cannot be regenerated. Take Wrath of God vs Day of Judgment , for example. A normal (I.e. not indestructible) creature with a regeneration shield will survive the Day, but not the Wrath.
July 13, 2011 2:33 a.m.