Mirror-Sigil Sergeant and Amoeboid Changeling

Asked by DaringApprentice 2 years ago

If I tap Amoeboid Changeling before my upkeep to give Mirror-Sigil Sergeant all creature types until end of turn, does that mean that the token created by Mirror-Sigil Sergeant will also have all creature types? If so, will this creature type change last until the end of the turn, or indefinitely?

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

The token copy won't have all creature types. A copy effect just copies:

  • What's actually written on the original card/spell
  • Any other copy effects being applied to the original (example: If Clone copies Runeclaw Bear, then a copy of that Clone will also be a Runeclaw Bear)
  • If the original is a spell on the stack, the copy effect will also copy decisions made while casting the spell (modes, targets, alternative costs, etc.)

In your example the token will just be a regular Mirror-Sigil Sergeant, which is still pretty good!

October 13, 2017 8:41 p.m.

DRACULA150704 says... #2

Here is the ruling with Mirror-Sigil Sergeant. I got them from gatherer

The intervening if clause means that (1) the ability wont trigger at all unless you control a permanent of the specified color, and (2) the ability will do nothing unless you control a permanent of the specified color at the time it resolves.

Normally, when a token is created by this ability, it will simply be a Mirror-Sigil Sergeant, so itll also have the token-creating ability. (See the other ruling for weird exceptions.) At the beginning of your next upkeep, if you still control the original Sergeant, the token copy, and a blue permanent, youll get two more token copies; the turn after that youll get four; then eight; and so on.

Heres the detailed version of what happens. As the token is created, it checks the printed values of the Mirror-Sigil Sergeant its copying or, if the Mirror-Sigil Sergeant whose ability triggered was itself a token, the original characteristics of that token as stated by the effect that put it onto the battlefield as well as any copy effects that have been applied to it. It wont copy counters on the Mirror-Sigil Sergeant, nor will it copy other effects that have changed Mirror-Sigil Sergeants power, toughness, types, color, or so on.

If Mirror-Sigil Sergeant has left the battlefield by the time its triggered ability resolves, youll still put a token onto the battlefield. That token has the copiable values of the characteristics of Mirror-Sigil Sergeant as it last existed on the battlefield.

Here are the weird exceptions. If any copy effects have affected the Mirror-Sigil Sergeant whose ability triggered, they're taken into account when the token is created. For example: -- If Mirror-Sigil Sergeant's ability triggers, then Mirror-Sigil Sergeant temporarily becomes a copy of another creature before its ability resolves (due to Mirrorweave, perhaps), the token will be a copy of whatever creature the Mirror-Sigil Sergeant is currently a copy of. After the turn ends, the Mirrorweaved Mirror-Sigil Sergeant reverts back to what it was, but the token will stay as it is. -- If the copy ability of a creature (such as Cemetery Puca, perhaps) makes it become a copy of Mirror-Sigil Sergeant and gain another ability, the token created by this creature at the beginning of your upkeep will be a Mirror-Sigil Sergeant with that additional ability.

October 13, 2017 8:42 p.m.

Ok, thanks for the help!

October 13, 2017 9:32 p.m.

Neotrup says... #4

Small knit-pick, while you can respond to the ability triggering to use Amoeboid Changeling (which won't do much) or Mirrorweave (which will work), you cannot do anything "before your upkeep." The first chance you have to do anything in your turn is during your upkeep after any triggered abilities have triggered but before any have resolved.

October 15, 2017 4:41 a.m.

Ah ok, got it, I knew there was something wrong with how I worded that. Thank you for the clarification, this will be helpful for me.

October 17, 2017 2:53 p.m.

Please login to comment