Lazav and using copied creature ability

Asked by Ziembski 8 years ago

I'm not sure, but according to rulings about Lazav ability, when multiple creatures goes to graveyard (may it be Glimpse the Unthinkable), owner of Lazav decides how many and in what order his ability triggers and goes on stack. And while stack resolves, after each resolution, each player may respond to next spell/ability on stack. So, when there are 2 creatures going to graveyard, may it be Shivan Dragon and Dimir Guildmage. As owner of Lazav, i choose him to first copy dragon and then copy mage. Can I use Shivan Dragon activated ability, gain power and then let him change to Dimir Guildmage? All that goes due to single mill effect.

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #1

Please link all cards in your question.

Lazav, Dimir Mastermind

You have the basic idea correct, but you worded it a bit wrong. Whenever a creature card is put into an opponent's graveyard from anywhere Lazav's ability triggers and it will go on the stack immediately before the next time a player receives priority. When the ability resolves you get to decide if you would like to make him a copy of the creature or not.

When a multiple abilities have triggered since the last time a player received priority, as in this case multiple things are milled with Lazav on the battlefield, they go on the stack in APNAP order and if a single player controls multiple triggers they get to decide in what order they would like to put them on the stack.

Whenever all players pass priority in succession the topmost object of the stack resolves. So yes you could allow Lazav to become a Shivan Dragon, pump it, and then allow Lazav to become a copy of a different creature.

August 12, 2016 9:11 a.m.

Ziembski says... #2

Thanks for your answer, wasnt sure about this possibility, that makes him even more fun to play.

August 12, 2016 9:19 a.m.

This discussion has been closed