Jeskai ascendancy and prowess differences?

Asked by phaze08 10 years ago

OK here's my main question about these two:

In the prowess rules it says when prowess is triggered it goes on the stack on top of the spell that was cast and if the spell is countered, prowess will still trigger regardless.

But does Jeskai Ascendancy do this? The wording on prowess and the first part of ascendancy are identical except for it says 'creatures you control'

My deck has both, ascendancy for the double prowess triggers, untapping after a Stoke the Flames and keeping Dragonlord Ojutai safe, as well as the looting if I need and I just thought about what would happen if a prowess trigger was countered.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

They function in the same way. Whenever an ability triggers during the casting process, it waits until the process is complete. After that time, the ability is put on top of the stack. The ability doesn't care about the spell that triggered it.

The ruling you found isn't the reason this happens. Rather, it's a clarification of the way in which it happens.

Also, the prowess trigger itself can't be countered, and countering the spell won't counter the ability. The only way to counter the ability is to use a card like Stifle.

June 7, 2015 3:55 p.m. Edited.

phaze08 says... #2

That's exactly what I needed to know, thanks.

June 7, 2015 3:57 p.m.

This discussion has been closed