Is a spell still considered cast if it doesn't resolve?

Asked by Chadarnook 12 years ago

I had a Guttersnipe on the battlefield, and I cast a Seething Song but my opponent used Dispel to counter it. Would Guttersnipe still deal 2 damage to him even if the Seething Song was countered, since it was cast and just didn't resolve?

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

A long time ago, there used to be a difference where effects cared whether a spell was "successfully cast", but that distinction was taken out of the rules in the 6th Edition Rules Update.

The last step of casting a spell is putting it onto the stack, and that's when players get priority again to make responses. Guttersnipe will trigger, and countering the spell that triggered him won't change that fact. You'll get the 2 damage.

October 30, 2012 3:59 p.m.

Chaosfission says... #2

Yes, a spell is cast once it's been paid for and put on the stack.

601.2. To cast a spell is to take it from where it is (usually the hand), put it on the stack, and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect. Casting a spell follows the steps listed below, in order. If, at any point during the casting of a spell, a player is unable to comply with any of the steps listed below, the casting of the spell is illegal; the game returns to the moment before that spell started to be cast (see rule 717, Handling Illegal Actions). Announcements and payments cant be altered after theyve been made.

So your Guttersnipe will trigger if your spell is countered.

October 30, 2012 3:59 p.m.

yousquiddinme says... #3

Yes. If there is a 'cast' trigger, as soon as you spend the mana on the spell, that trigger goes on the stack and resolves (minus the case of cards like Stifle )

October 30, 2012 5:13 p.m.

This discussion has been closed