Interaction with Rielle, the Everwise and Drastic Revelation
Asked by chessdude13 3 years ago
I have Rielle, the Everwise out on the field and cast Drastic Revelation . What will happen?
A) Do I draw cards equal to my discarded hand? B) Do I draw cards equal to my discarded hand + 3?
I used Cruel Ultimatum ruling as a guide. Base on drastic revelation, I discard my hand first and Rielle sees this discard first and is waiting to be put on to the stack. Then I draw 7 and finally discard 3. Since the discard 3 is the second instance of discard Rielle would not see this. So I would assume A.
The second question to this is what ruling does this fall under? I seem to not be able to find it in the comprehensive rules.
Gidgetimer says... #2
Omniscience_is_life is mostly correct. Though Drastic Revelation draws 7 from its effect, not equal to the discard.
It is also worth noting that if you do not have any cards in hand to discard with Drastic Revelation , Rielle, the Everwise will trigger off of the discard 3 since it is the first time you actually discarded cards.
July 20, 2021 5:37 a.m.
Omniscience_is_life says... #3
Gidgetimer once again, I misread a card in my zealous haste. Thanks for that caveat
Omniscience_is_life says... Accepted answer #1
603.2. Whenever a game event or game state matches a triggered ability’s trigger event, that ability automatically triggers. The ability doesn’t do anything at this point.
603.2a Because they aren’t cast or activated, triggered abilities can trigger even when it isn’t legal to cast spells and activate abilities. Effects that preclude abilities from being activated don’t affect them.
These mean that the interaction will resolve like this:
You cast Drastic Revelation .
Revelation starts resolving. You discard you hand as part of the resolution--and Rielle, the Everwise sees that. She can't put her trigger on the stack until Revelation is through resolving, however. You then draw an equivalent quantity of cards to the amount you discarded, and discard three of them.
Revelation is fully resolved, and Rielle's suspended trigger goes on the stack--once resolved, it will draw you the same number of cards that Revelation did.
July 19, 2021 10:45 p.m.