Interaction between Cauldron of Souls Vela the Night-Clad and Rite of Replication
Asked by manowar418 11 years ago
What would happen if I played a kicked Rite of Replication on Vela the Night-Clad? Would I be able to give all tokens Persist with Cauldron of Souls or would the legendary rule kill them with no chance to respond? If I do give them all persist/undying, do they all come back at once, or does all the undying hit the stack at the same time, and I get 3 pairs of Vela killing each other?
Gidgetimer says... #3
The "legendary rule" is a state based action so it is taken before any player receives priority sending 5 of the 6 Vela the Night-Clad
to the graveyard before you can try to respond and give them persist.
If you had a legendary creature that natively had persist they would come back 1 at a time since persist is a triggered ability and so the 5 abilities would have to be put on the stack and resolved 1 at a time.
January 6, 2014 7:29 p.m.
Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #4
@Gidgetimer: The second part of your answer is incorrect. Tokens cease to exist as a state-based action once they leave the battlefield. Giving persist (or undying) to a token is pointless; it will never return to the battlefield.
January 6, 2014 7:42 p.m.
Gidgetimer says... #5
Epochalyptik is correct, I forgot that they were tokens for some reason. The tokens would cease to exist as soon as they were sent to any zone except the battlefield.
manowar418 says... #1
Rite of Replication Vela the Night-Clad Cauldron of Souls
January 6, 2014 7:16 p.m.