If i copy Kokusho, the Evening Star?

Asked by SniperFrog 12 years ago

The legend rule would obviously kill my copy and the original, but would the copy go to the graveyard and trigger the effect? Just for reference it would be copied by a Phyrexian Metamorph or Phantasmal Image . Thanks.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

When a creature dies, it dies as whatever it was on the battlefield. Your Phyrexian Metamorph copy of Kokusho, the Evening Star would be a Kokusho until it hit the yard, where it would revert to being a Metamorph. Since it will be a Kokusho at the time of death, the on-death triggered ability that Metamorph copied from Kokusho will trigger.

December 14, 2012 1:50 p.m.

SniperFrog says... #2

Sweet. I feel like every question i have you seem to be able to answer. Thanks, Epoch.

December 14, 2012 2:14 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #3

Just in case you're wondering, using an effect that makes a token copy will also give you the full effect, because the token does actually go to the graveyard before it ceases to exist.

December 14, 2012 2:34 p.m.

SniperFrog says... #4

So a kicked Rite of Replication copying a Kukusho would win the game instantly then? Would the legend rule kill them all simultaneous? I know im adding questions to questions, but it'd be nice to know.

December 14, 2012 2:37 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #5

Yes and yes. Most of the time the Legend Rule is explained by saying "two with the same name", but it's really "more than one with the same name", and the state based action checked for the Legend Rule will put all of them into the graveyard at the same time. In your example you'll get 6 Kokusho triggers, which should be enough to win almost any game.

December 14, 2012 2:43 p.m.

cartwheelnurd says... #6

Epoch's a ninja. This is established.

December 14, 2012 3:46 p.m.

This discussion has been closed