If Eidolon of Rhetoric enters the battlefield after my opponent has already cast a spell, can they cast another one?

Asked by Arorsthrar 3 years ago

Scenario: My opponent casts Demonic Dread , and with cascade on the stack, I cast Chord of Calling for x=3 and put Eidolon of Rhetoric in play. Can my opponent cast the card they cascade into, say Living End in this case?

Would it be any different if cascade weren't involved?

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

No and no.

Always check the Gatherer rulings before asking a question.
4/26/2014: Eidolon of Rhetoric will look at the entire turn to see if a player has cast a spell yet that turn, even if Eidolon of Rhetoric wasn't on the battlefield when that spell was cast. Specifically, you can't cast Eidolon of Rhetoric and then cast another spell that turn.

Cascade would normally allow your opponent to cast the first nonland card that costs less than the cascade spell. However, Eidolon of Rhetoric is keeping your opponent from casting more than one spell this turn, so he or she can't choose to cast the revealed card.

January 12, 2016 11:19 p.m.

This discussion has been closed