If a Copy of "X" is specifically "cast" instead of being created on the stack, will it trigger "when you cast X" abilities?

Asked by Debatra 1 month ago

Fairly sure I understand this already, but it never hurts to double-check.

Let's say I have God-Eternal Kefnet and Mizzix of the Izmagnus on the board. If I use Kefnet's ability to reveal and copy an Instant spell, the copy goes to my hand and I decide whether to cast it or let it fizzle out. If I cast it, it follows all the same rules for casting the original spell (706.12).

Since card type is a copyable value, and this copy was specifically cast instead of being created on the stack like most copies of instants, will Mizzix's ability trigger if the spell has a higher CMC than I have experience counters?

Caerwyn says... Accepted answer #1

First Question: So long as the copy is specifically "cast" then any cast triggers will occur. A copy that is not cast (such as one created by Fork ) will not.

Second question: So long as the total CMC (including the X value since X is counted for CMC on the stack) is greater than your experience counters, then Mizzix will trigger.

May 5, 2021 4:48 p.m.

Please login to comment