How do Thalia, Guardian of Thraben and Chalice of the Void interact?
Asked by fadetoblack1183 11 years ago
Specifically, can you cast Chalice of the Void for zero, even though you pay one?
If you decide X is 0 for the Chalice of the Void, then the total cost would be (Cost of Spell) + (Additional Cost) - (Cost Reduction) = (0) + (1) - (0)= 1 mana.
March 11, 2014 11:06 a.m.
Didgeridooda says... #3
And yes, if you pay 0 for X, it will be in play, and trigger when a 0 casting cost non creature is played. You would have to pay 1 colorless extra to play it with Thalia out though.
March 11, 2014 11:09 a.m.
fadetoblack1183 says... #4
Someone was explaining to me that if Thalia, Guardian of Thraben was in play and you wanted to cast Engineered Explosives for two with two mana available (say white and black) you would cast it as X =1, but pay the X with one mana and Thalia's cost with the other and it would come in with two counters on it. Is this a true statement, and if so how is this different than with Chalice of the Void . I probably horribly misunderstood, but would definitely like clarification either way.
March 11, 2014 11:27 a.m.
Didgeridooda says... #5
It would only come in with one counter on it. The 1 colorless from Thalia is an additional cost. It does not have anything to do with X.
March 11, 2014 11:35 a.m.
Rhadamanthus says... #6
@fadetoblack1183: The Engineered Explosives in your example would enter with 2 counters. Sunburst takes into account the mana spent to pay additional or alternative costs (this is one reason why Fist of Suns was printed, for example). The number of counters the Explosives enter with is based solely on Sunburst and not directly tied to the value of X, whereas Chalice of the Void specifically says it enters with X counters.
Didgeridooda says... Accepted answer #1
The cost of the Chalice of the Void would be (X)+(X)+(1). It would just add one to the overall casting cost.
Also the CMC stays the same. Here is a ruling from the gatherer site. Since the chalice deals with CMC, and CMC does not change, Thalia has no effect on the spell interacting with the chalice.
1/22/2011 The ability affects the total cost of each noncreature spell, but it doesn't change that spell's mana cost or converted mana cost.
March 11, 2014 11:04 a.m.