Gor Muldrak Rulings - Define "the fewest"

Asked by TehGrief 4 years ago

Gor Muldrak, Amphinologist 's text reads as:

"At the beginning of your end step, each player who controls the fewest creatures creates a 4/3 blue Salamander Warrior creature token."

In a multiplayer game where each player controls equal number of creatures, assuming that the ability resolves without any interruptions or state-changes on the board, does every player create a Salamander token?

I am hesitant with rulings like this, since it definitively suggests "the fewest", but would each player be considered as having the fewest? Would the ability not produce anything?

Nerdytimesorwhatever says... Accepted answer #1

I believe the card itself answers your question:

"each player who controls the fewest creatures"

So in a 1v1 game where both players have 2 creatures, both create a salamander. You can extend this to any amount of players, if every player in a 100 person EDH planeschase brawl had the same amount of creatures, they all benefit.

I am not a judge, as such I could be incorrect, but this seems relatively cut and dry. Never hesitate to ask any questions, though, thats the best way to learn! :)

April 12, 2021 10:32 a.m.

Gidgetimer says... #2

Nerdytimesorwhatever is exactly correct.

(Commenting instead of upvoting because they left some ambiguity by saying they may be wrong. As a general rule it is better to answer confidently, people will let you know if you were wrong.)

April 12, 2021 5:34 p.m.

Caerwyn says... #3

In the future, please remember to hit the green "Mark as Answer" button to indicate your question has been resolved. Since this question has been answered with no follow-ups, I have marked an answer on your behalf.

April 17, 2021 10:50 a.m.

Please login to comment