Gideon Jura's +0 Ablility

Asked by vila_a23 13 years ago

Ok say my opponnent uses Gideon Jura's ability that turns him into a 6/6 creature for the turn as well as a planeswalker. Can he be destroyed by cards that deal damage or -1/-1 counters like tragic slip?

gormak says... #1

No, Gideon JuraMTG Card: Gideon Jura's +0 ability prevents him from receiving all damage therefore cards such as Lightning BoltMTG Card: Lightning Bolt can not deal damage and cards such as Tragic SlipMTG Card: Tragic Slip can not either since -1/-1 counters are still a for of damage. This applies to infect too.

March 13, 2012 8:59 p.m.

2austin5 says... #2

Actually Tragic SlipMTG Card: Tragic Slip would work because it is not damage, this is why it can kill creatures with indestructibility. Tragic SlipMTG Card: Tragic Slip doesn't give out -1/-1 counters either

March 13, 2012 9:03 p.m.

gormak says... #3

On second thought he might take the -1/-1 counters from tragic slip but it probably doesn't stay on him.

March 13, 2012 9:04 p.m.

gormak says... #4

Yea, that's what made me think about it a second time.

March 13, 2012 9:04 p.m.

vila_a23 says... #5

Actually gormak, the ability just states that combat damage is prevented. Sorcories and instants played after the combat stage don't count as combat damage. What i was asking was if killing the 6/6 was enough to send him to the graveyard or would he just return to normal with however many loyalty counters were on him?

March 13, 2012 9:05 p.m.

gormak says... Accepted answer #6

Ah, well does this ruling on him help? 6/15/2010 "If you activate Gideon Jura's third ability and then unpreventable damage is dealt to him (due to Unstable Footing, for example), that damage has all applicable results: specifically, the damage is marked on Gideon Jura (since he's a creature) and that damage causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from him (since he's a planeswalker). If the total amount of damage marked on Gideon Jura is lethal damage, he's destroyed as a state-based action. If Gideon Jura has no loyalty counters on him, he's put into his owner's graveyard as a state-based action."

March 13, 2012 9:11 p.m.

GoblinsInc says... #7

@vila_a23

It states that all damage is prevented, not just combat damage. Also note that combat damage is the damage assigned and dealt by creatures during the combat damage step. Instants and sorceries -never- deal combat damage, even if cast during combat

And yes, if you make Gideon go to 0 toughness (or less) or cast a Terminate on him while a creature, he will be sent to the graveyard just like any other creature

0: Until end of turn, Gideon Jura becomes a 6/6 Human Soldier creature that's still a planeswalker. Prevent all damage that would be dealt to him this turn.
March 13, 2012 9:26 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #8

From the Oracle ruling on Gideon JuraMTG Card: Gideon Jura:

6/15/2010 "If you activate Gideon Jura's third ability and then unpreventable damage is dealt to him (due to Unstable Footing, for example), that damage has all applicable results: specifically, the damage is marked on Gideon Jura (since he's a creature) and that damage causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from him (since he's a planeswalker). If the total amount of damage marked on Gideon Jura is lethal damage, he's destroyed as a state-based action. If Gideon Jura has no loyalty counters on him, he's put into his owner's graveyard as a state-based action."

Therefore, preventable damage does nothing to Gideon after his 0 ability has been used.

Now, Tragic SlipMTG Card: Tragic Slip does not destroy or deal damage (it also does NOT put counters on anything). Therefore, it can kill Gideon because any creature with toughness 0 or less if put into its owner's graveyard.

March 13, 2012 9:28 p.m.

A card like Tragic SlipMTG Card: Tragic Slip does not place -1/-1 counters on a creature. It simply gives that creature -x/-x until end of turn. This effect can kill creatures do to state based effects, and does not deal damage.

This effect is removed during the cleanup step at the same time effects like Giant GrowthMTG Card: Giant Growth would wear off. Note that pump cards like Giant GrowthMTG Card: Giant Growth also do not place any counters on the affected creature.

March 14, 2012 12:24 a.m.

This discussion has been closed