Genesis Wave and Auras

Asked by NobodyPicksBulbasaur 13 years ago

Suppose I play Genesis WaveMTG Card: Genesis Wave and hit a creature (say, Engulfing SlagwurmMTG Card: Engulfing Slagwurm) and an aura (say, LureMTG Card: Lure).

Can I enchant the slagwurm with the lure if they both enter simultaneously?

KorApprentice says... Accepted answer #1

No, you must choose something that is on the battlefield to attach the aura to. Any creature entering the battlefield simultaneously with the aura is not on the battlefield when you would choose an object for the aura to enchant.

March 29, 2012 3:21 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #2

No. This question was asked a little while ago. The Aura must enter attached to something that already exists. In order for it to be attached to the Engulfing SlagwurmMTG Card: Engulfing Slagwurm, the Slagwurm would have to enter first and then the LureMTG Card: Lure. Since they both enter simultaneously, that does not happen and Lure cannot be attached to the Slagwurm in this way.

March 29, 2012 3:21 p.m.

Ohthenoises says... #3

No... ran into that myself when an aura goes to enter the battlefield you have to choose a legal target before it becomes a permanent so since its not a permanent yet neither is slagwurm.

March 29, 2012 3:22 p.m.

Ohthenoises says... #4

Dammit epoch!! Lol

March 29, 2012 3:23 p.m.

BuLLZ3Y3 says... #5

It is important to note that Genesis WaveMTG Card: Genesis Wave can place Aura's such as Temporal IsolationMTG Card: Temporal Isolation on creatures with Hexproof or Shroud, such as Thrun, the Last Troll MTG Card: Thrun, the Last Troll or Sphinx of Jwar IsleMTG Card: Sphinx of Jwar Isle.

This is possible due to Genesis Wave's wording.

-BuLLZ3Y3

March 30, 2012 2:40 a.m.

KorApprentice says... #6

From the MTG Comprehensive Rulebook:

303.4f If an Aura is entering the battlefield under a players control by any means other than by resolving as an Aura spell, and the effect putting it onto the battlefield doesnt specify the object or player the Aura will enchant, that player chooses what it will enchant as the Aura enters the battlefield. The player must choose a legal object or player according to the Auras enchant ability and any other applicable effects.

Similar to choosing what creature a CloneMTG Card: Clone will enter the battlefield as, this action does not target. This is why you are able to attach auras to hexproof/shrouded creatures if you are not casting them. Auras only target when they are cast.

March 30, 2012 2:48 a.m.

This discussion has been closed