Erayo, Soratami Ascendant  Flip transforming trick

Asked by FALLEN-X-ANGEL 6 years ago

Suppose i have Erayo, Soratami Ascendant  Flip out on the battlefield.

I cast a spell to remove an opponent's creature from the game Swords to Plowshares doesn't matter what I used (first spell)

My opponent responds with a Counterspell (second spell + it's the first spell he played that turn)

I respond with a Spell Snare , (third spell)

and he responds, with a Mana Leak (fourth spell)

Now that the fourth spell of the turn is cast, Erayo is flipped, so would it counter the Counterspell my opponent cast?

In my opinion, i think it does, but I'd like other peoples' P.O.V on this topic.

Drilnoth says... Accepted answer #1

It does not work that way, because by the time Erayo flips the first spell of the turn has already been cast. The printed text of the card is admittedly confusing on this point; the Oracle text of Erayo's Essence is "Whenever an opponent casts a spell for the first time in a turn, counter that spell.", which makes it a clear triggered ability. Since the Essence wasn't around when your opponent cast their first spell of the turn (it was still Erayo, Soratami Ascendant) it never got a chance to trigger.

Many questions, including this one, can be answered by checking the Gatherer rulings for a card, such as here (see the second ruling).

March 25, 2015 2:49 a.m.

This discussion has been closed