Does Psychosis Crawler die with a Discard/Draw 7 spell?

Asked by Dreno33 11 years ago

Say I have Psychosis Crawler out. Will it die if I cast Windfall or Wheel of Fortune ?

Nigeltastic says... #1

I don't know for sure, but it is possible that it won't due to no break in the paragraph on the card, and thus no time for the game to check state based stuff, so he might live. Epochalyptik can probably answer this though for sure.

November 13, 2013 1:56 a.m.

Mpz5 says... Accepted answer #2

I believe the answer is no. Game-state never checks before you draw the cards back after the discard, so it's power and toughness never hit 0.

November 13, 2013 1:57 a.m.

Dreno33 says... #3

that's exactly my thoughts. hmm, hmm, hmm...

November 13, 2013 1:57 a.m.

agGravity says... #4

The reason why the Psychosis Crawler won't die isn't because there isn't any break it's simply because game states only check whenever a player would get priority. It will check for all the conditions for state-based actions, then it will perform the actions simultaneously.
And there is no priority check in the middle of a resolution of a spell

November 13, 2013 2:14 a.m.

smithereen says... #5

What @Mp25 said. I believe this situation is clarified explicitly in either the Comprehensive Rules or the Gatherer.

November 13, 2013 2:19 a.m.

smash10101 says... #6

I can confirm that it does in fact survive, because SBA are only checked when a player gets priority, which doesn't happen during the resolution of a spell.

November 13, 2013 2:19 a.m.

Renaud says... #7

was answered here: http://tappedout.net/mtg-questions/will-psychosis-crawler-die-with-mindmoil/

(copy pasting)

Epochalyptik says...No. Creatures die for having 0 toughness, but this death is a state-based action. SBAs are only performed before players get priority. They never check during the resolution of a spell or ability.

November 13, 2013 2:56 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #8

@Nigeltastic: Breaks in text serve no game function. They only increase readability. For example, compare the Fifth Dawn and Theros printings of Magma Jet .


As has been explained (and even quoted, it seems), state-based actions preserve Psychosis Crawler .

Creatures die for having 0 or less toughness, but they die this way as a state-based action. State-based actions check before a player receives priority, but they do not check during the middle of the resolution of a spell or ability. Although Psychosis Crawler will become a 0/0 during the resolution of a wheel effect, it will have a nonzero toughness once the resolution is completed and SBAs check.

November 13, 2013 3:05 a.m.

Nigeltastic says... #9

Hmm that makes sense, and I feel a bit silly for thinking they would change things.

November 13, 2013 4:07 a.m.

This discussion has been closed