Does Phantasmal Image stay blue

Asked by operationremie 13 years ago

I'm kind of new to the whole clone thing so I have a question. Say I use Phantasmal Image and copy Steel Hellkite or Wurmcoil Engine . Does the Phantasmal Image stay blue or does it become a colorless artifact? I would think that it'd become colorless since it's copying a card and doesn't keep its color. But I may be wrong.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

Any effect which causes a permanent or spell to become a copy of an object inherently causes that permanent or spell to gain all characteristics of that object, including converted mana cost, color, etc.

706.2a A copy acquires the color of the object its copying because that value is derived from its mana cost. A copy acquires the abilities of the object its copying because those values are derived from its rules text. A copy doesnt wind up with two values of each ability (that is, it doesnt copy the objects abilities and its rules text, then have that rules text define a new set of abilities).

July 24, 2011 6:15 p.m.

operationremie says... #2

so if my phantasmal image copies steel hellkite, and i have Grand Architect on the field, i'd have to tap U to turn it blue?

July 24, 2011 6:26 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

Yes, because your Phantasmal Image will be a colorless artifact creature after copying Steel Hellkite .

July 24, 2011 6:42 p.m.

unless the card says otherwise

July 25, 2011 2:59 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #5

On a side note, it wouldn't be a very good idea to use Grand Architect 's ability on your own Phantasmal Image copy of something, because of the triggered ability the Image gives itself in addition to becoming a copy.

July 25, 2011 11:51 a.m.

Cyber Locc says... #6

this is prolly a lil late but hes right use a Lord of the Unreal instead that will give it hexproof too

January 15, 2012 7:35 p.m.

This discussion has been closed