Does Inspire trigger by "untapping" a creature that's already untapped?

Asked by StopShot 4 years ago

Say I have Pain Seer , Reconnaissance , and Maze of Ith on the battlefield. I move to combat and attack with the Pain Seer . While in combat I then tap Maze of Ith targeting the Pain Seer which causes it to untap causing one inspired trigger, but the Pain Seer is still technically in combat. I then pay for Reconnaissance 's ability targeting my Pain Seer to remove it from combat and "untap it." The Pain Seer is already untapped, but Reconnaissance states that I must untap it. Does this interaction cause a second inspired trigger to occur?

Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #1

No. Untapping an untapped permanent doesn't do anything extra. It simply does nothing. You'll only get one inspired trigger.

August 24, 2016 6:22 p.m.

This discussion has been closed