Does a -1/-1 and X damage go together?

Asked by Junius 13 years ago

What I mean with this question, if I'd deal damage to a creature equal to it's toughness minus 1 and I play a card that gives him -1/-1, does the creature die or not?

For example, let's say I have a Festering Goblin and my opponent has an Orcish Farmer (2/2 creature and they engage in combat (let's say I block his 2/2 with my festering-zombie, my zombie is destroyed and dealt one damage to his Orcish Farmer , then target his farmer with my Festering Goblin giving him -1/-1 for one turn. Does his creature die or not?

And would it matter if the -1/-1 were permanent (like -1/-1 counters or cards like Weakness )?

Other scenario: I use Volcanic Hammer on a Tangle Golem who is 5/4. Then I play Weakness on him. Is the golem destroyed or not? I know if I'd do it vice versa (playing Weakness first), he'd be destroyed.

arobidoux says... #1

You are correct in both scenario's.

As soon as a creature has 0 or less toughness, the creature is destroyed... The only thing that prevents this is if the creature that has 0 or less toughness is indestructable...

It doesn't matter which order these abilities are placed on the stack... Just remember that at the end of any turn, any damage dealt to creatures is then removed from said creatures...

August 10, 2011 12:08 p.m.

icekillaxx says... #2

Doesnt Weakness kill indestructables tho!

August 10, 2011 12:14 p.m.

doinitwrong says... Accepted answer #3

Both the Orcish Farmer and the Tangle Golem would die. The damage lasts until end of turn, so if at any moment that turn the creature's damage is equal to or greater than the creature's toughness, the creature dies.

August 10, 2011 12:18 p.m.

arobidoux says... #4

you are correct icekillaxx.

I overlooked the ruling part of Indestructible that says they are only destroyed by bringing toughness below or at 0.

Thanks for pointing that out. :)

August 10, 2011 12:19 p.m.

Gamer7129 says... #5

To clarify on what arobidoux said.

He is right when he says that any creature with toughness 0 or less is sent to the graveyard as a state-based action. However, this doesn't apply because you are not lowering the creature's toughness to 0, you are simply dealing lethal damage to it.

you are correct in both scenarios, with one damage marked on the Orcish Farmer , then its toughness becomes 1 from the Festering Goblin 's ability, making the 1 damage on it enough to kill it. Same with the tangle golem.

August 10, 2011 12:21 p.m.

ThiagoMaia says... #6

Actually, if a creature has toughness 0 or less it is put on it's owner's graveyard as a state based action, it doesn't matter if it's indestructible.

As for the answer of your question, it's very easy, you just need to see how damage sticks to a creature until the cleanup step.

For example, if you target an Inferno Titan with a Lightning Bolt , and an Incinerate at the same turn, it is destroyed because the damage is as much or more as the Titan's toughness. Now, if you use some effect or counter to reduce the creature's toughness, less damage will be enough to be as much or more as the toughness.

August 10, 2011 12:21 p.m.

Gamer7129 says... #7

damn it. I'm always late to the party.

August 10, 2011 12:22 p.m.

ThiagoMaia says... #8

Me too, everybody answered while I was writing xD

August 10, 2011 5:48 p.m.

damage stays on the creature untill its removed at end of turn or by an effect

  • counters lower the power and/or toughness of the creature by the amount determaned by the effect that put them on there and the counters and effects giving a creature -x-x stack

if the damage on a creature meets or exceds the toughness of the creature at any time it dies as a SBA

in short you can use -1-1 counters and -x-x affects aswell as damage together to take down a creature

August 12, 2011 6:37 a.m.

This discussion has been closed