Do you choose target as spell resolves?
Asked by toastymcslugnugget 14 years ago
Or do you choose as soon as you cast it and put it on the stack?
As you cast or put on the stack the the spell or ability, you choose the targets and special costs (kick, multikick, X cost etc).
114.1. Some spells and abilities require their controller to choose one or more targets for them. The targets are object(s), player(s), and/or zone(s) the spell or ability will affect. These targets are declared as part of the process of putting the spell or ability on the stack. The targets cant be changed except by another spell or ability that explicitly says it can do so
March 25, 2011 12:42 p.m.
MagnorCriol says... Accepted answer #3
Hoo boy. Are you ready for this?
601.2. To cast a spell is to take it from where it is (usually the hand), put it on the stack, and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect. Casting a spell follows the steps listed below, in order.From here on out, I'm just going to put it in more layman's terms, but I included that so you can look it up if you like.
- First, you announce that you're casting the spell, and that card moves from your hand to the stack.
- Next, all the extra parts of the spell:> If the spell is modal ("Choose one - do X; or do Y") you choose a mode.> If you're splicing a card (Splice Onto Arcane), you reveal the card here.> Additional or alternate costs like buyback, kicker, or convoke are announced here.> If it's got X in the cost, you choose the value for X.> If it's got hybrid mana costs, you announce what you're paying (R for an R/G hybrid, for instance).
- Now, you choose a target or targets.Note that if the spell only says "target" once, even if it's telling you to choose multiple targets, you can't choose the same target twice. So, for instance, Retribution asks for "two target creatures," so you can't choose the same creature. Seeds of Strength , by contrast, says "target" multiple times, so you can choose the same creature three times.
- Divide effects, such as damage or counters, if needed, among the targets. So if you're casting Arc Lightning , and in the last step you chose two targets, here's where you decide how you split the damage up.
- Now you determine the total cost. Here's where you apply cost modifiers (Semblance Anvil , Trinisphere , Sunscape Familiar ). Additional parts of the cost like discarding or saccing a creature are also decided here. From here on out, this cost is "locked in".
- You pay the cost.Here's an interesting bit: Because you determined the cost in the last step and "locked it in," it is what it is. So if you're casting a black spell and have a Thunderscape Familiar on the field, that spell costs 1 less. Then if you sacrifice the Familiar as part of the spell's additional costs, it still costs 1 less because you locked in the cost already!
- After all that is done, the spell is cast and it's off to the races for you.
March 25, 2011 2:26 p.m.
MagnorCriol says... #5
Haha, thanks Tezz. =)
Now if only I put this much time and effort into my college courses...
rushtowait says... #1
Target for a spell is a requirement for the spell to be cast. For example, you cannot cast Flame Slash if there is no creature on the battlefield, simply because there is no legit target for the spell to target. There's a rule that would give a more detail explanation for that matter.
March 25, 2011 12:36 p.m.