Do creature Tokens have a converted mana cost?

Asked by phc 11 years ago

I was playing against my girlfriend, who had a bunch of creature tokens on the battlefield. I attacked with a Steel Hellkite , successfully dealing combat damage to her. The question came up of what the tokens converted mana cost was. We either thought it would be 0, on which case I wouldn't have to pay any mana to destroy her tokens. Or that the converted mana cost rules don't apply to token creatures, and they are effectively immune to the Steel Hellkite 's activated ability.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

Tokens can sometimes have CMCs.

If a token is created by an effect that doesn't specify a mana cost (such as Raise the Alarm , Awakening Zone , etc.), then the token has no mana cost, and, therefore, a CMC of 0.

If a token is created as a copy of another permanent, the token inherits that permanent's mana cost, and, therefore, has whatever CMC that permanent has.

December 28, 2013 1:29 p.m.

Skyfolk says... #2

The converted mana cost of a creature token that is not a copy of a creature is always 0. If the token is a copy of a creature (like from Mimic Vat ) then its converted mana cost is the same as the creature it is a copy of.

December 28, 2013 1:29 p.m.

MagnusMTG says... #3

Yes, you may choose 0 for X in this case, and destroy all tokens with cmc 0.

December 29, 2013 5:27 p.m.

This discussion has been closed