Do creature activated abilities also use deathtouch and lifelink?
Asked by nismosean 14 years ago
Lets say your [Prodigal Pyromancer] has death touch and life link. You activate its ability and deal 1 damage to another creature. Would that creature take lethal damage from deathtouch and you gain 1 life from lifelink or would the 1 damage be done and that is it?
Do deathtouch and lifelink only apply to combat damage from the creature or any time of damage coming from that creature?
And yes. Triskelion is a popular target for Basilisk Collar in proliferating artifact decks I've played for its poking death touch. Similar mechanics are also used with creatures with infect and Livewire Lash to inflict poison damage.
July 18, 2011 2:34 p.m.
BrightGreenLine says... Accepted answer #3
Deathtouch, Lifelink, Wither, Infect, and probably more all work on any kind of damage that creature deals. What you're looking for in the reminder text is for the phrase "noncombat damage", which is not in for those 4 listed abilities. Here's a quick excerpt from the Deathtouch rules where it only talks about damage in general, not specific types like combat damage:
702.2c. A creature with toughness greater than 0 that's been dealt damage by a source with deathtouch since the last time state-based actions were checked is destroyed as a state-based action. See rule 704.
Silaspilas says... #1
Deathtouch and Lifelink both apply to no matter which form of damage the creature deals. The "another creature" will receive lethal damage and my Prodigal Pyromancer will gain me one life.
July 18, 2011 2:34 p.m.